Annual Ceremony Celebrates Achievements in BC Sporting Community

Sport BC honoured outstanding contributions from the BC sporting community tonight at the 42nd Annual Athlete of the Year Awards. Athletes, coaches, volunteers and officials from across the province were recognized with an award from 17 distinct categories, which celebrate recipients for their achievements and dedication to sport.

Sport BC Athlete of the Year Award Recipients:
Team of the Year:
The Kelly Scott Team, Curling
(Sponsored by Team 1040 Sports Radio)

Coach of the Year:
Mike Spracklen, Rowing
(Sponsored by Canadian Sport Centre Pacific)

Official of the Year:
Jack McDonald, Golf
(Sponsored by Flight Centre)

Athlete with Disability:
Michelle Stilwell, Wheelchair Athletics
(Sponsored by SportsFunder)

High School Female Athlete of the Year:
Sabrina Nettey, Athletics
(Sponsored by Subway)

High School Male Athlete of the Year:
Manjot Sandhu, Wrestling
(Sponsored by Subway)

Junior Female Athlete of the Year:
Rebecca Marino, Tennis
(Sponsored by BC Ferries)

Junior Male Athlete of the Year:
Kyle Turris, Ice Hockey
(Sponsored by The Vancouver Sun)

College Athlete of the Year:
Lyndsay Thomson, Badminton
(Sponsored by Copasetic Creative)

University Athlete of the Year:
Brian Johns, Swimming
(Sponsored by The Province)

Senior Female Athlete of the Year:
Britt Janyk, Alpine Skiing
(Sponsored by CTV)

Senior Male Athlete of the Year:
Brent Hayden, Swimming
(Sponsored by TELUS)

Master Athlete of the Year:
Alison Murdoch, Golf
(Sponsored by Hyatt Regency Vancouver)

Best of BC:
Jeff Francis, Baseball
(Sponsored by British Columbia Ministry of Tourism, Sport and the Arts)

TELUS Community Champion Award:
Trevor Linden, Ice Hockey (Sponsored by TELUS)

Award Categories Announced March 4, 2008:
Harry Jerome Comeback Award:
Carling Muir, Basketball
(Sponsored by WorkSafe BC)

Daryl Thompson Award:
Sohen Gill, Lacrosse
(Sponsored by Wolf Blass)

“This year’s recipients have set a high standard in their respective sports and are outstanding representatives of the BC sporting community,” said Paul Varian, President and CEO, Sport BC.

“We are proud not only to honour their achievements but to celebrate their commitment and dedication to sport.” This year’s finalists represent over 21 BC ommunities and 20 different sports, highlighting the depth of sporting achievements seen throughout the province. For the most part, award recipients were chosen by a selection committee, composed of more than 30 media representatives and sport leaders from around the province. The Daryl Thompson Award recipient was selected by the Board of Directors of Sport BC from nominations brought forth by Sport BC’s member Provincial Organizations. For the first time, the BC public was invited to vote on the newest award category, the TELUS Community Champion Award. The award recognizes an athlete who has made extraordinary contributions on and off the field and in doing so inspires others to get in the game and do the same. In the spirit of the award, TELUS granted $10,000 on behalf of inaugural recipient Trevor Linden to KidSport(TM) BC, to provide funding for children who could otherwise be denied the opportunity to participate in sport.

Sport BC’s Annual Athlete of the Year Awards is the longest-standing sport recognition event in the country. Presented by TELUS the event was made possible through the generous support of sponsors, including Team 1040 Sports Radio, Canadian Sport Centre Pacific, BC Ferries, Copasetic Creative, CTV, and Hyatt Regency Vancouver, Vancouver Sun, The Province, Wolf Blass, WorkSafe BC, British Columbia Ministry of Tourism, SportFunder, Flight Centre, and Subway.

For further information on the 42nd Annual Athlete of the Year Awards, please visit