OTTAWA – Swimming Canada has announced its national open water team for the 2012-2013 season.

The team was selected from the 2012 Canadian Open Water Ranking System and is headlined by Olympic bronze medallist Richard Weinberger.

The Surrey, B.C., native is joined by Xavier Desharnais of Sherbrooke, Que., and Aimeson King of Oakville, Ont., on the men’s side.

The women’s team is made up of Toronto’s Zsofi Balazs, Nadine Williams of Sherwood Park, Alta., and Beatrice Pineau of Quebec City.

Meanwhile, Victoria’s Zac Parkes and Jade Dusablon of Quebec City, have been identified as the Junior Select team, picked from the best 18-and-under results.