Stanhope, PEI – Swimming Canada is proud to announce that Dan Thomson, Brian Johnson, Sean Finn and Dorothy Miller have been elected to its Board of Directors for 2008-09. Anne Bell, David de Vlieger and Gary Malcom will continue their second year term to the board.

After a four year term mandate as President of the organization, Dan Thompson will pass on the torch to Brian Johnson who served as Vice-President since 2004.

Thompson will take on the role of Vice-President and Anne Bell as Treasurer.

“We have moved things forward in Canadian swimming and we are a valued sport in the Canadian Sport system,” said Dan Thompson during his address to the delegates at the AGM. “It has been an honour to work with Brian (Johnson) and the members of the board and staff of Swimming Canada.”

“As we have made tremendous progress we must continue to move forward,” said newly elected President, Brian Johnson. “As a community, we need to work together and pool our resources to become more effective in achieving our goals.”

New inclusion to the Board of Directors include Sean Finn and Dorothy Miller.

Sean Finn of St-Lambert is the Senior V.P., Public Affairs for CN, and is responsible for the company’s community outreach program, corporate social responsibility initiatives and various sponsorship programs in Canada and the US, including the recent sponsorship of the 2008 Olympic swimming trials in Montreal. As Corporate Secretary he is actively involved and responsible for CN’s Corporate Governance Practices and the implementation of the CN Business Code of Conduct.

Dorothy Miller of North Vancouver is Chief Financial Officer for Rimfire Minerals Corporation. Her CGA education gives her a broader perspective on accounting and finance applied to both business situations and not-for-profit organizations. This useful knowledge can be applied by the board in overseeing management’s actions on behalf of the swimming community. Dorothy has been involved in swimming for nearly 20 years.

Swimming Canada would like to thank outgoing board members Susan Bauhart and Bill Hogan for their long standing contribution to the board of directors.