Seven potential bidders in Lausanne for information meeting


Lausanne (SUI) – The seven Cities/National Federations who expressed their interest in organising the 15th FINA World Championships were welcomed by FINA in Lausanne (SUI) on December 4, 2008 for the first information meeting concerning the organisation of these Championships. The seven Cities/National Federations are: Belgrade (SRB), Budapest & Belatonfüred (HUN), Dubai (UAE), Hamburg (GER), Hong Kong, China (HKG), Madrid (ESP) and Moscow (RUS).

In Lausanne, items such as Venues, Budget, TV Production, Accommodation, Transportation, Commercial Programmes or Participation were discussed in this meeting.

In accordance with the published Milestones for the organisation of these Championships (comprising the five FINA aquatic disciplines: swimming, water polo, diving, synchronised swimming and open water swimming), the deadline for the presentation of a formal final bid is March 2, 2009. Finally, the decision on the organiser for this competition will be taken by the FINA Bureau on July 18, 2009 on the occasion of the 13th FINA World Championships in Rome (ITA).

Other news on

FINA Communications Department Tel.: (41-21) 310 4710 Fax: (41-21) 312 6610

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!