“Swimmer Brent Hayden named Male Athlete of the Year, Tom Johnson named Coach of the Year and Phillip Clark named Official of the Year”

Ottawa, ON – Swimming Canada is proud to announce that three members of the Canadian Swimming Community received a special recognition from the Aquatic Federation of Canada (AFC) yesterday at the inaugural AFC awards banquet in conjunction with the 2007 Aquatic Conference held in Ottawa.

World Champion Brent Hayden of Mission BC was named Male Athlete of the Year for his outstanding performance in the pool at the FINA World Championships. Brent won the gold medal in the 100m Freestyle as well as a bronze medal as part of the 4x200m freestyle relay.

Hayden’s coach Tom Johnson was named AFC Coach of the Year. Johnson’s swimmers’ performances include a gold medal (Hayden) and a bronze medal (Hayden and Brian Johns) at the 2007 FINA World Aquatic Championships.

The AFC Volunteer of the year award was presented to Phillip Clark of Winnipeg. Clark was chair of the National swimming official’s committee for 2007 and swimming volunteer at every level for many years. He is also a respected international official and has represented Canada at key International events.

Swimming Canada Awards

Swimming Canada also presented a few awards to members of the Canadian Swimming Community who have shown great contribution to the sport of swimming in Canada.

The President’s Leadership Award was presented to Dr. Jeno Tihanyi. Tihanyi or “Doc” left an invaluable legacy to amateur sport in Canada. Doc’s coaching career in Canadian swimming spanned a remarkable 51 years. Well known for his popular coaching philosophy not to push performance, but rather push improvement, Dr. Tihanyi has been part of the successful development of numerous elite swimmers in Canada. Most memorable is, of course, his influence and coaching of Alex Baumann.

The President’s Community Service Award was presented to Jack Kelso who has over 45 years of involvement in the sport as an athlete Coach and historian. Kelso has witnessed and participated in the evolution of competitive swimming and Canadian Swimming is very grateful to have an individual such as Jack to document all of its history.

The Ken Fillipelli Award was awarded to a swimming official who as gone over and above while contributing to the success of the National Officials Program. Louise Leblanc of Montreal received the 2007 Ken Fillipelli Award.

The Administrator of the year award was presented to Annetter Gillis an extraordinary volunteer who has a long history of involvement in aquatic sports. She has contributed to the sport of swimming as a volunteer of the Board of Directors for Swim Alberta, since 2001 and has been the chair of Alberta Officials committee for the past four years. Gillis is also and member of the National Officials committee.

Swimming Canada would like to congratulate all of the awards recipients. The Swimming Canada Swimmers and Coaches awards will be presented during its Awards Dinner prior to the Bell Grand Prix in Toronto.


More information:
Martin Richard | Communications Director, Swimming Canada | t. 613.260.1348 x 2002,
c. 613.725.4339, e. mrichard@swimming.ca, w. www.swimming.ca