Toronto, ON – The 2007 Victor Davis Award recipients were announced last night at Swimming Canada’s Annual Awards Banquet.

The Victor Davis Memorial Fund was established to remember Victor, his contribution to competitive swimming in Canada, and to encourage other young Canadians toward excellence.

Each year the awards are made from The Victor Davis Memorial Fund to assist young Canadian swimmers to continue their training, education, and pursuit of excellence at the international level of competition.

Mel Davis, father of Victor Davis was on hand to present the awards to the deserving swimmers.

Each of the 2007-2008 recipients receive a $1,500 bursary.

Award Winners:

Rachel E.E. Nicol – Lethbridge Amateur Swim Club (Coach Brad Mori)
Sinead Russell – Dolphin Swim Club (Coach Erin Russell)
Geneviève Cantin – Université Laval (Coach Johanne Girardin)
James Kendrick – Cascade Swim Club (Coach Dave Johnson)