David Bandla 

EDMONTON – UBC Thunderbirds third-year forward Janine Frazao continued her torrid scoring pace, scoring 16 goals in just 14 games as she claimed Canada West women’s soccer Player of the Yearhonours.

Overall, Frazao had 17 points to lead the conference as the Port Moody, B.C. native helped the T’Birds to an 11-1-2 record, good for second place and a spot at this weekend’s Final Four tournament . She scored in nine different games, with UBC going 9-0-0 in those contests. Twice she had a hat trick (three goals) and at the conference level Frazao was named Athlete of the Week on two occasions. In 2010 Frazao was a Second team All-Star.

“Janine has just continued to develop and improve as a player,” said UBC head coach Mark Rogers. “In each of her three seasons, she’s had a very impressive goalscoring record, culminating in this season. I think she’s well-deserving of the award.”

Also from the UBC Thunderbirds is Rookie of the Year, goalkeeper Alyssa Williamson.

Williamson had a memorable debut season for the T’Birds, recording eight wins in 11 matches, all by shutout. Her eight clean sheets were the most in the Canada West this season.

“Aly has come in and done a remarkable job,” said Rogers. “The amount of clean sheets and the lack of goals she conceded was very impressive and she made some very impressive saves along the way.”

Williamson, a native of Langley, B.C., also led the league in save percentage and goals against average.

Fourth-year Alberta Pandas midfielder and Nursing student Carleigh Miller is the conference nominee for the CIS Student-Athlete Award. Miller was also named a conference FirstTeam All-Star after scoring one goal and earning two assists in playing all 14 games this season.

“Carleigh is a great ambassador for soccer in Edmonton and surrounding areas, as well as the Canada West and CIS. It is remarkablethat she has such a high presence as a varsity athlete, as a scholar, and as a community member,” said Pandas head coach Liz Jepsen.

Miller’s volunteer contributions over her four years at the U of A are comprehensive: she has dedicated time to youth soccer, Special Olympics, the Stollery Children’s Hospital, Habitat for Humanity, and the University Athletics Board. She is a two-time CIS Academic All-Canadian nod, and was recently a member of the 2011 FISU games team.

Graham Roxburgh of the Trinity Western Spartans has been voted conference Coach of the Year by his peers.

For the second time in his 12-year career leading the Spartans Roxburgh has earned the Canada WestCoach of the Year award, after he led the Spartans to a program best 12-1-1regular season record, which included a 13-game undefeated streak to end the 2011 season. He previously won the Canada West Coach of the Year honours in2009.

“What a special honour for Graham to be selected by his peers for this prestigious award. Graham has set the standard for coaching excellence at TWU in a number of areas under our Complete Champion Approach™,” commented TWU Director of Athletics Murray Hall. “He has built a quality expert-based staff around him, and recruited top student athletes who fit the high performance – highcharacter culture he demands.”

Since Roxburgh took over as head coach in 1999, he has guided the Spartans to three CIS National Championships (2004, 2008 and 2009), three Canada West gold medals (2004, 2006 and 2009) and a record of 139-63-38 in CIS play.

Taking home the Fair Play Award for sportsmanship are the Victoria Vikes.

Among the All-Stars is Trinity Western’s Melissa Mobilio, who earns her fourth selection after being named in 2007, 2009 and 2010. For teammates Elizabeth Hudon and Daneila Fuenzalida of Saskatchewan this is their third all-conference appearance. TWU’s Natalie Boyd, along with Heather Lund, Shalla Kadima and Carleigh Miller of Alberta each made the CIS All-Canadian team last season. Natalie Hirayama, now a senior for UBC, was Canada West Rookie of the Year back in 2007 and made the all-conference roster in 2010.

Following is a list of 2011 Canada West women’s soccer Awards & All-Stars:


Player of the Year: Janine Frazao, UBC

Rookie of the Year: Alyssa Williamson, UBC

Student-Athlete Award:Carleigh Miller, Alberta

Coach of the Year: Graham Roxburgh, Trinity Western

Fair Play Award: Victoria Vikes


First Team Second Team

Goalkeeper Kristen Funk, Trinity Western Ally Williamson, UBC

Fullbacks Kelly Cook, UBC Amy Lawrence, Victoria

Shalla Kadima, Alberta Jilian Dietrich, Trinity Western

Jennifer Castillo, Trinity Western Alishia Penev, UBC

Colleen Webber, Trinity Western Vanessa Graham, Calgary

Midfielders Jaclyn Sawicki, Victoria Elise Emmott, Alberta

Melissa Mobilio, Trinity Western Natalie Hirayama, UBC

Natalie Boyd, Trinity Western Daniela Fuenzalida, Saskatchewan

Carleigh Miller, Alberta Sarah Benson, Calgary

Strikers Janine Frazao, UBC Daniela Gerig, Trinity Western

Heather Lund, Alberta Elizabeth Hudon, Saskatchewan