Andrew Smith

Vancouver, BC: The Women’s Lower Mainland Fall rugby season will wrap up this Saturday, with 12 teams competing for hardware.

Featuring club sides from the Fraser Valley and Vancouver Rugby Unions, the top prizes up for grabs will be the Tier One ‘Anna Schnell’ Cup and the Tier Two ‘West Coast Women’s Rugby Assocation’ Cup. The two Cup finals along with the Tier Two Shield championship will be held at Burnaby Lake Rugby Club.

Klahanie Park, home of Capilano RFC in West Vancouver, will play host to the Tier One Bowl and Shield Finals as well as the Tier Two Bowl Final.

Burnaby Lake RC (3760 Speriling Ave, Burnaby):

10:00am – TIER 2 WCWRA Shield Final: Brit Lions vs Burnaby Lake RC

11:30am – TIER 2 WCWRA Cup Final: Abbotsford RFC vs UBC

1:00pm – TIER 1 CUP Final (Anna Schnell Cup): Burnaby Lake RC vs Bayside Sharks

Klahanie Park (305 Klahanie Court, West Vancouver):

10:00am – TIER 1 Bowl Final: United RFC vs SFU

11:30am – TIER 1 Shield Final: Capilano RFC vs Meraloma RC

1:00pm – TIER 2 WCWRA Bowl Final: United RFC vs Kelowna

Burnaby Lake eyeing 2011 trophy treble

Burnaby Lake Rugby Club will look to add a third championship to their 2011 haul on Saturday, when they host the Bayside Sharks in the Anna Schnell Cup Final. Burnaby won the provincial 15-a-side championship last May and carried their form into the summer season, cruising to their second straight BC Rugby Sevens Series title.

Burnaby are favourites heading into the title match, having completed a perfect 7-0 regular season. In the semifinals, Burnaby conceded just a single try, in a 19-5 victory over SFU. When the two sides clashed back on October 15th in regular season play, Burnaby narrowly beat Bayside 12-5.

About the Anna Schnell Cup (Tier 1)

The Lower Mainland Tier One Cup is named after Anna Schnell, a former Canadian national team standout and club member of Burnaby Lake Rugby Club. Anna retired from international rugby in 2010 after finishing as the second highest scorer at the Women’s Rugby World Cup. Schnell was also recognized as the BC Rugby Union Female Athlete of the Year in 2010. Although retired, Schnell continues to help coach and contribute to women’s rugby in British Columbia.

About the West Coast Women’s Rugby Association Cup (Tier 2)

The WCWRA Cup was named after a group of pioneers responsible for launching women’s rugby in the province of British Columbia. When women first started competing in BC, they organized themselves into the West Coast Women’s Rugby Association, an organization that grew steadily through the 1990s. In 2004, the women’s league joined the BC Rugby Union and the WCWRA was dissolved. The Tier Two Cup was named in honour of their efforts.

2011 Tier One Scoring Race (TOP TEN)

1. Candace Barry (United RFC) – 70 pts (7 tries, 16 conversions, 1 penalty)

2. Julia Sugawara (Burnaby Lake) – 64 pts (7 tries, 13 conversions, 1 penalty)

3. Andrea Burk (Capilano RFC) – 58 pts (7 tries, 10 conversions, 1 penalty)

4. Tanya Leigh (Bayside Sharks) – 11 tries (55 pts)

5. Emily Young (Kamloops) – 47 pts (9 tries, 1 conversion)

6. Erin Grant (SFU) – 41 pts (5 tries, 8 conversions)

7. Jess Neilson (Meraloma) – 33 pts (1 try, 5 conversions, 6 penalties)

8. Hilary Leith (Capilano RFC) – 31 pts (5 tries, 3 conversions)

T9. Christina Burnham (SFU) – 30 pts (6 tries)

T9. Katie Larson (Burnaby Lake) – 30 pts (6 tries)