Nicole Betker

VANCOUVER (CIS) – The Canadian Interuniversity Sport football all-stars for the 2011 season were announced on Thursday, 24 hours before the 47th Vanier Cup final that will see the Laval Rouge et Or take on the McMaster Marauders at B.C. Place Stadium in Vancouver.

The first Vanier Cup championship game to be played in the province of British Columbia gets under way at 6 p.m. Pacific on TSN and RDS, with the pre-game show starting at 5:30 p.m. PST on TSN.

For all the info on CIS football: and

The Canada West champion Calgary Dinos dominated the overall tally with eight all-Canadians, including three on the first team and five on the second unit. Vanier Cup-bound Laval and McMaster both saw five of their players honoured.

Leading the first CIS squad on offence is UBC quarterback Billy Greene, the Canada West player of the year. The fourth-year pivot from Surrey, B.C., is joined by running backs Steven Lumbala of Calgary and Anthony Coombs of Manitoba, wide receivers Simon Charbonneau-Campeau of Sherbrooke and Michael DiCroce of McMaster, inside receivers Jordan Brescacin of Windsor and Michael Squires of Acadia, tackles Kirby Fabien of Calgary and Brendan Dunn of Western, guards Matthew Norman of Western and Brett Jones of Regina, as well as centre Pierre Lavertu of Laval.

Greene led the country with 2,558 passing yards in eight regular season games, tied for the CIS lead with 20 touchdown passes and had the best TD-to-interception ratio in the nation (20-4).

Lumbala averaged 8.1 yards per carry and racked up 898 rushing yards. Coombs had eight rushing majors in seven outings in his university debut. Charbonneau-Campeau, named the RSEQ MVP for the second straight campaign, had 53 catches for 854 yards and eight scores. DiCroce, the OUA player of the year, topped all CIS receivers with 904 yards through the air. Brescacin had 50 receptions, while Squires caught 31 balls, including seven in the end zone.

Charbonneau-Campeau and Norman are the only returnees from last year’s first offensive squad.

On defence, the first all-Canadian team is comprised of tackles Stefan Charles of Regina and Seamus Postuma of Windsor, ends Akiem Hicks of Regina and Arnaud Gascon-Nadon of Laval, linebackers Max Caron of Concordia, Sam Hurl of Calgary and Kevin Régimbald Gagné of Sherbrooke, halfbacks Cameron Wade of Acadia and Beau Landry of Western, cornerbacks Dominic Noël of Laval and Kayin Marchand-Wright of Saint Mary’s, as well as safety Teague Sherman of Manitoba.

Caron, the defensive player of the year in Quebec, led the country with 78.5 tackles and three interceptions returned for touchdowns. Gascon-Nadon was named the outstanding down lineman in the RSEQ for the second straight season. Hurl and Hicks were named the Canada West defensive MVP and top down lineman, respectively.

Gascon-Nadon is the lone returning player from last year’s top defensive unit.

On special teams, Regina punter Chris Bodnar, McMaster placekicker Tyler Crapigna and Concordia returner Kris Robertson make up the first CIS squad.

Below is a complete list of CIS football all-Canadians, including the first and second teams.