Andrew Smith

Burnaby, BC: Burnaby Lake Rugby Club wrapped up a perfect season on Saturday afternoon, winning the Lower Mainland Women’s Tier One ‘Anna Schnell’ Cup with a narrow 6-0 victory over the Bayside Sharks. The Cup was Burnaby’s third major trophy in 2011, having already clinched the provincial 15-a-side club title in May as well as the BC Sevens Series championship this past August.

Saturday’s championship match was a tight affair with neither side able to break the defensive line for tries. In the end, penalties by Becky Querido and Canadian International Julia Sugawara proved to be the difference for Burnaby, as they blanked their rivals 6-0. Burnaby had gone 7-0 during the regular season and defeated SFU 19-5 in the semifinals.

Burnaby Lake Rugby Club also took home some hardware in the Lower Mainland Women’s Tier Two competition, when they were awarded the West Coast Women’s Rugby Association Shield, due to the Brit Lions opting out of the playoffs.

Abbotsford takes Lower Mainland Tier Two title

The Tier Two Lower Mainland Final (Women’s West Coast Rugby Association Cup) was won by Abbotsford who produced a convincing 31-12 victory against the UBC Thunderbirds. Abbotsford standout Mackie Edwards led all scorers with 16 points, tallying two tries and three converts. Tries were also recorded by Madison Borrows, Jerusha Dunsmore, and Elyssa Phillipson. UBC tries were recorded by Paniz Pahlavanlu and Haley Glendinning while Carolyn McEwen kicked the T-Birds’ conversion.

Lower Mainland Women’s Playoff Results

TIER 1 CUP Final (Anna Schnell Cup): Burnaby Lake RC [6 -0] Bayside Sharks

TIER 1 Shield Final: Capilano RFC [0 – 34] Meraloma RC

TIER 2 WCWRA Cup Final: Abbotsford RFC [31 – 12] UBC

TIER 2 WCWRA Shield Final: Brit Lions [0-5] Burnaby Lake RC (Brit Lions opted out)

About the Anna Schnell Cup (Tier 1)

The Lower Mainland Tier One Cup is named after Anna Schnell, a former Canadian national team standout and club member of Burnaby Lake Rugby Club. Anna retired from international rugby in 2010 after finishing as the second highest scorer at the Women’s Rugby World Cup. Schnell was also recognized as the BC Rugby Union Female Athlete of the Year in 2010. Although retired, Schnell continues to help coach and contribute to women’s rugby in British Columbia.

About the West Coast Women’s Rugby Association Cup (Tier 2)

The WCWRA Cup was named after a group of pioneers responsible for launching women’s rugby in the province of British Columbia. When women first started competing in BC, they organized themselves into the West Coast Women’s Rugby Association, an organization that grew steadily through the 1990s. In 2004, the women’s league joined the BC Rugby Union and the WCWRA was dissolved. The Tier Two Cup was named in honour of their efforts.

Scores not reported before deadline:

TIER 1 Bowl Final: United RFC vs SFU

TIER 2 WCWRA Bowl Final: United RFC vs Kelowna