dsc01317 2

Story and Photos by Ken Keating

Twenty-six racers lined up for round three in the Steve Copp Construction sponsored Enduro race held at Western Speedway Sunday afternoon.

The temperature was cool but action on the track was somewhat warmer and sometimes hot but sunny skies prevailed throughout the event making for another entertaining event. Glenn Rand and Phil Lagan shared the front row for the first come first served start with Lagan jumping out to lead the first lap plus several laps thereafter. Rory Smith was quick to move into the second spot with Darren Yates also running close to the front. In the early stages Smith and Yates changed positions quite often taking turns trying to run down the leader. The first yellow came out to clear a stalled car from the track and when the field went back to green, Lagan still had the lead followed by Yates, Smith, Heath Cooper, and Steve Copp running in the top five positions. Over the next several laps the battle for positions one through five changed almost every lap. Rory Smith entered the pits very early as his car quit and he had to be pushed to the pits after challenging for the front. Brenda Leslie and Cody Aumen were making their presence felt as they made their way forward moving into the top six places. At one point Lagan had built a decent lead out front only to have a yellow flag bunch the field as yet another car came to a stop on the hard dog leg at the end of the track. On the restart, Copp got by Lagan and took over the lead while Aumen moved up to run second with Lagan falling to third. Aumen then passed Copp for the lead while the battle behind was still up for grabs with Lagan, Cooper, and Yates running very close together. Lap after lap even the lead changed as Copp took another turn up front and Heath Cooper did likewise as the top five cars remained in a tight bunch. Heath Cooper and Darrell Midgley got together coming out of the pit area and just missed slamming into the wall on the backstretch. Midgley came to the pits shortly after the collision while Cooper did stay on the track but eventually he entered the pits with his day complete about half way through the event.


Jay Young places 3rd in winter Enduro event


Curtis Williams places second in winter Enduro event

Cody Aumen wins Stage 3 of the winter Enduro series

Up front, Aumen still was in the lead with Yates all over him still trying to win another event as they were able to put some space between themselves and third place. After several more laps, the yellow came out as Yates came to a stop as he sheared an axle coming through the chicanes at the end of the drag strip. This, however, would not be the end to his day as they were able to make repairs and put him back on the track late in the event. Aumen was still in the lead but again was challenged by Copp until he entered the pits with a barke problem. He was able to continue but was not able to go quite as fast as the previous laps. Lagan also came into the pits after running close to the front for most of the event. He too made some adjustments and could get back later to complete more laps. Aumen was able to build a pretty good lead over the remainder of the race and came home with his first victory of this winter series followed by Curtis Williams, who made the trip from Agassiz, and Jay Young coming to the chequered flag in third place after a full 200 laps. Phil Lagan and Kevin Knight rounded out the top five positions. Williams usually races Hornets at Evergreen but he and another driver made the trek to Western Speedway saying: “It was fun except for the high cost to get here with the Ferries.” The top three drivers received their trophies from Rockell Kroppmans at Victory Sqaure at the conclussion of the event. With his eventual 10th place finish, Yates held on to the points lead with Aumen taking over the second spot in overall points with a real close battle for the next positions. The next event is scheduled for January 2012 with the start time of 1:00 PM and three events left.

Winter Points:

1/ #90 Darren Yates – 50

2/ #04 Cody Aumen – 43

3/ #8 Blair Davis – 39

4/ #28 Howie Mace – 38

5/ #91 Brenda Leslie – 37

6/ #18 Jay Young – 35

7/ #79 Heath Cooper – 32

8/ #15 Steve Copp – 31

9/ #66 Ian Walker – 27

10/ #83 Shawn Hitchings – 24