Cory Flett

Calgary, AB – The Canadian Hockey League today announced that a total of 64 current CHL players are listed on official International Ice Hockey Federation rosters and will be competing in the 2012 IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship beginning today in Calgary and Edmonton, Alberta.

The 64 players includes a representative from all 10 participating countries including Canada who leads the way with 19 CHL players followed by the Czech Republic with ten players, Switzerland and the United States each with seven players, Russia and Slovakia each with six players, Sweden with four players, Finland and Latvia each with two players, and one player from Denmark.

Among the 64 CHL players, 18 currently play in the Western Hockey League including League leading scorer Mark Stone (Brandon Wheat Kings / Canada), Emerson Etem (Medicine Hat Tigers / USA), Sven Bartschi (Portland Winterhawks / Switzerland), Andrei Markov (Saskatoon Blades / Russia), David Musil (Vancouver Giants / Czech Republic) and Martin Marincin (Prince George Cougars / Slovakia), among others.

In addition to the 64 current CHL players, two competing players are CHL graduates currently with NHL clubs including former Prince George Cougar Brett Connolly, while another 10 players participated in the 2011 SUBWAY Super Series with Team Russia.

The Ontario Hockey League leads the way with 30 players competing in the tournament followed by the Western Hockey League with 18 players, and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League with 16 players. 38 of the CHL’s 59 clubs are represented in the event with the OHL’s Niagara IceDogs producing a CHL-high four competing players, all of which are on Team Canada.

Last season, 55 CHL players competed in the 2011 IIHF World Junior Championship in Buffalo, New York.

The 2012 IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship begins today with four games including Team Canada against Team Finland at 3:30 pm Eastern at Rexall Place in Edmonton.

CHL Players Competing at the 2012World Junior Hockey Championship (WHL Players Bolded in Red):

Canada (19):

Nathan Beaulieu (Saint John Sea Dogs)

Michael Bournival (Shawinigan Cataractes)

Brendan Gallagher (Vancouver Giants)

Brandon Gormley (Moncton Wildcats)

Dougie Hamilton (Niagara IceDogs)

Freddie Hamilton (Niagara IceDogs)

Scott Harrington (London Knights)

Quinton Howden (Moose Jaw Warriors)

Jonathan Huberdeau (Saint John Sea Dogs)

Boone Jenner (Oshawa Generals)

Ryan Murray (Everett Silvertips)

Jamie Oleksiak (Saginaw Spirit)

Tanner Pearson (Barrie Colts)

Mark Pysyk (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Mark Scheifele (Barrie Colts)

Mark Stone (Brandon Wheat Kings)

Ryan Strome (Niagara IceDogs)

Mark Visentin (Niagara IceDogs)

Scott Wedgewood (Plymouth Whalers)

In addition, Brett Connolly of the Tampa Bay Lightning is a former member of the Prince George Cougars, and Devante Smith-Pelly of the Anaheim Ducks played for the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors.

Czech Republic (10):

Jakub Culek (Rimouski Oceanic)

Radek Faksa (Kitchener Rangers)

Tomas Filippi (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

Marek Hrbas (Kamloops Blazers)

Tomas Hyka (Gatineau Olympiques)

Petr Mrazek (Ottawa 67’s)

David Musil (Vancouver Giants)

Lukas Sedlak (Chicoutimi Sagueneens)

Petr Straka (Rimouski Oceanic)

Dominik Uher (Spokane Chiefs)

Denmark (1):

Nicklas Jensen (Oshawa Generals)

Finland (2):

Christopher Gibson (Chicoutimi Sagueneens)

Olli Maatta (London Knights)

Latvia (2):

Nikita Kolesnikovs (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)

Kristians Pelss (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Russia (6):

Mikhail Grigorenko (Quebec Remparts)

Alexander Khokhlachev (Windsor Spitfires)

Artem Sergeyev (Val d’Or Foreurs)

Andrei Markov (Saskatoon Blades)

Ivan Telegin (Barrie Colts)

Nail Yakupov (Sarnia Sting)

In addition, the following ten Russian players competed in the 2011 SUBWAY Super Series against the CHL’s three regional league teams.

Victor Antipin (Metallurg, Magnitogorsk)

Daniil Apalkov (Metallurg, Magnitogorsk)

Nikita Gusev (CSKA)

Ildar Isangulov (Salavat Yulaev, Ufa)

Nikita Kucherov (CSKA)

Pavel Kulikov (Neftekhimik, Nizhnekamsk)

Sergey Kostenko (Metallurg, Novokuznetsk)

Mikhail Naumenkov (CSKA)

Nikita Nesterov (Traktor, Chelyabinsk)

Grigory Zheldakov (Spartak, Moscow)

Switzerland (7):

Sven Andrighetto (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

Sven Bartschi (Portland Winterhawks)

Alessio Bertaggia (Brandon Wheat Kings)

Lino Martschini (Peterborough Petes)

Tanner Richard (Guelph Storm)

Dave Sutter (Seattle Thunderbirds)

Dario Trutmann (Plymouth Whalers)

Slovakia (6):

Michal Cajkovsky (Ottawa 67’s)

Vladimir Dolnik (Everett Silvertips)

Adam Janosik (Gatineau Olympiques)

Tomas Jurco (Saint John Sea Dogs)

Martin Marincin (Prince George Cougars)

Marek Tvrdon (Vancouver Giants)

Sweden (4):

Rickard Rakell (Plymouth Whalers)

Victor Rask (Calgary Hitmen)

Ludvig Rensfeldt (Sarnia Sting)

Johan Mattsson (Sudbury Wolves)

United States (7):

Jack Campbell (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Emerson Etem (Medicine Hat Tigers)

John Gibson (Kitchener Rangers)

JT Miller (Plymouth Whalers)

Brandon Saad (Saginaw Spirit)

Jarred Tinordi (London Knights)

Austin Watson (Peterborough Petes)

For more information about the 2011 World Junior Hockey Championship and for complete team rosters please visit www.hockeycanada.ca and www.iihf.com.