Andrew Smith

Vancouver, BC: Two of the highest scoring offences in the Canadian Direct Insurance Premier League will collide this weekend when the UVic Vikes (1-2) cross the Georgia Straight to square off against Burnaby Lake Rugby Club (3-0).

Canadian Direct Insurance Premier League – Sat. February 4th:

Meraloma Rugby Club at Abbotsford RFC (CFV Exhibition) 2:45pm

UBCOB Ravens at Castaway Wanderers RFC (Windsor Park) 2:45pm

James Bay AA at Capilano RFC (Klahanie Park) 2:45pm

UVic Vikes at Burnaby Lake Rugby Club (Burnaby Lake Sports Complex) 2:45pm

Weekend Preview

With two wins carrying over from the Fall season, Burnaby Lake currently leads the league in scoring, averaging 41 points per game. Burnaby also boasts the division’s top scorer in Jeke Gotegote who has seven tries to his credit. When Premier League play resumed this past weekend, Burnaby shocked defending Lower Mainland champions Capilano RFC with a 25-0 defeat. Scrum half Geoff Ryan led the team offensively with two conversions and two penalties. The Blue and White will look to maintain their undefeated record this weekend when they host the UVic Vikes, a youthful team boasting plenty of national-team caliber talent.

Leading the charge for the Vikes will be rookie and Cowichan product Pat Kay. The national team prospect has already proven himself in high pressure situations leading the British Columbia Under-18 provincial team to a national title in August, as well as playing a key role at the Youth Commonwealth Games with Canada’s Under-18 7s team this past September. Kay currently sits second in the Premier League scoring charts with 26 points, while the UVic offence ranks third in overall scoring averaging 22 points per game.

“Pat is a very versatile player and can play a number of positions,” UVic head coach Doug Tate said heading into Saturday’s clash. “He is a young, up-and-coming player and has well developed skills for his age.”

The Vikes are currently in a transition phase after losing their front row to graduation and will play short-handed over the next few weeks with Sevens stars Nathan Hirayama and Sean Duke away on national team duty.

The last time these two sides met in Premier League play was the 2011 regular season finale when the Vikes managed to escape the Lower Mainland with a narrow 39-38 victory. Burnaby last defeated the Vikes back on April 5th, 2008 when they dealt the students a 25-22 loss at Wallace Field. With Burnaby in top form and the Vikes still blooding young players at the senior club level, Saturday’s clash promises to be another exciting spectacle for local fans.

“We are a very young team with a majority of players in their first year of a full premier [level] schedule,” added Tate. “I anticipate a tough game as [Burnaby] had an impressive win last week against Caps and it will be our first road game of the season.”

Elsewhere in Premier League competition, 2011 Vancouver Island champions James Bay AA (3-0) will head to Klahanie Park to battle Lower Mainland champions Capilano RFC (2-1). Reigning provincial champions Castaway Wanderers (2-1) will play host to Vancouver’s UBC Old Boy Ravens (2-1) and winless sides Meraloma Rugby Club (0-3) and Abbotsford RFC (0-3) will scrum down at CFV Exhibition Park.

Recent Scores:

Canadian Direct Insurance Premier League – Sat. January 28th

Abbotsford RFC 10 – 27(+1) James Bay AA

Castaway Wanderers 28(+1) – 27(+1) Uvic Vikes

Burnaby Lake 25 – 0 Capilano RFC

Premier League Top Scorers:

1. Jeke Gotegote (Burnaby Lake) – 35 pts

2. Pat Kay (UVic Vikes) – 26 pts

3. Matt Yanagiya (Capilano RFC) – 21 pts

4. Nolan Shelley (Burnaby Lake) – 18 pts

T5. Isaac Bainivula (Castaway Wanderers) – 15 pts

T5. Beau Parker (UVic Vikes) – 15 pts

T5. Gordie Sawers (Capilano RFC) – 15 pts

8. Brock Staller (Meraloma) – 13 pts

9. Bryan Tyrer (Meraloma) – 11 pts

T10. Joseph Alexis (UBCOB Ravens – 10 pts

T10. Gareth Bartlett (Abbotsford RFC) – 10 pts

T10. Hugo Belanager (James Bay) – 10 pts

T10. Darwin Guevara (Abbotsford RFC) – 10 pts

T10. Jonny Morris (Castaway Wanderers) – 10 pts

T10. JT Rowbotham (James Bay) – 10 pts

T10. Morgan Williams (James Bay) – 10 pts

T10. Ander Monro (Castaway Wanderers) – 10 pts

T10. Geoff Ryan (Burnaby Lake) – 10 pts