Cory Flett

Calgary – Ron Robison, Commissioner of the Western Hockey League, announced today, on behalf of the WHL Board of Governors, the recipients of the WHL Distinguished Service Award for the 2011 – 12 season.

The 2011 – 12 WHL Distinguished Service Award recipients are Rose Mary Hartney, a longtime volunteer for the Moose Jaw Warriors as their Education Advisor, and Greg ‘Spike’ Wallace, current Kamloops Blazers’ Community and Sponsorship Coordinator.

For over 38 years at Vanier Collegiate, Rose Mary Hartney has been teacher, counsellor, and Education Advisor to countless Moose Jaw Warrior players. Included among the many young men Ms. Hartney has guided and influenced to academic success are former Warriors Darryl LaPlante, Curtis Brown, Joey Perricone, and Ryan Smyth. Ms. Hartney’s commitment to her students is reflected in the countless study halls, tutoring classes, and tireless hours to maximize the academic potential of all the WHL players while attending high school at Vanier Collegiate in Moose Jaw.

Greg ‘Spike’ Wallace has been a long-time fixture with the Kamloops Blazers’ hockey club, joining the organization in 1984 as their Trainer and Equipment Manager. He has also worked internationally for Hockey Canada serving as Equipment Manager for Canada’s Under-18 Team in 1993 for the Japan Cup and also for Team Canada’s Spengler Cup entry in 1995. After numerous WHL Championships and Memorial Cups with the Blazers, Spike assumed his new office role in 2005 as the Community and Sponsorship Coordinator; organizing and managing community appearances and also assisting with game day operations.

“Rose Mary and Spike are great examples of individuals who have worked tirelessly behind the scenes for many years in moose Jaw and Kamloops respectably, to improve the experience players had in these communities from both an education and hockey stand-point,” commented WHL Commissioner Ron Robison.

The WHL Distinguished Service Award, which the WHL introduced during in 2004 – 05, is presented annually to an individual associated with the WHL who has made an extraordinary contribution over an extended period of time at the Club or League level.

WHL Commissioner Ron Robison will be in Moose Jaw on Feb. 17 to present Rose Mary Hartney with the honor and at the Kamloops Blazers game March 7 to acknowledge Greg ‘Spike’ Wallace as part of the pre-game ceremonies.

Previous recipients of the WHL Distinguished Service Award include: Nella Rounsville (Kootenay Ice – Education Advisor); Lorne Frey (Kelowna Rockets – Asst GM/Head Scout); Graham Tuer (Saskatchewan Hockey Association – Volunteer); Jann Boss (Portland Winterhawks – Administration); Ruth “Grams” Pollock (Prince Albert Raiders Billet Coordinator); Dr. Ian Hill (Regina Pats Team Doctor); Dr. Alfred Blue (Seattle Thunderbirds Team Doctor); Doris Rubel (Kamloops Blazers Billet Coordinator); Colleen MacBean (Swift Current Broncos Education Advisor); and Bob Ridley (Medicine Hat Tigers Play-By-Play Announcer).