– The host Regina Cougars won a classic head-to-head dual with the Alberta Golden Bears on Saturday afternoon to win the two-day Canada West wrestling championships at the Centre for Kinesiology, Health & Sport.

Earlier in the afternoon, the Alberta Pandas, which won its first-ever CIS title last year, claimed a conference team gold medal for the first time.

Men’s Team Points

1. Regina 45

2. Alberta44

3. Saskatchewan 34

4. Calgary 20

5. Winnipeg 3

Women’s Team Points

1 Alberta 34

2 Saskatchewan 32

3 Regina 26

4 Calgary 23

5 Winnipeg 6

Individual awards were handed out at a banquet on Saturday evening following the event, where fourth-year University of Regina wrestler Connor Malloy, who claimed a gold medal in the 76 kg event, was named Canada West male Wrestler of the Year. Malloy, who in 2009 was selected conference Rookie of the Year, went 4-0 without relinquishing so much as a point and helped the Cougars to a team gold medal. He won his first two matches by superiority, both 7-0, 7-0 before winning by fall in his third match-up and, in his final draw won 1-0, 3-0.

Taking female Wrestler of the Year honours was University of Calgary’s Erica Wiebe, gold medalist in the 72 kg class. While the Dinos placed fifth overall, the fifth-year Stittsville, Ont. native won all four matches on the weekend. Wiebe won her first match by default, her second and four draws by fall and another by a shutout (1-0, 5-0).

Rookie of the Year awards went to Dylan Williams of the Alberta Golden Bears and Jessica Brenton, a member of the inaugural Winnipeg Wesmen conference roster. Williams went 4-0 to take the men’s 61 kg event, not allowing a point. Brenton was 3-1 to earn silver in the 59 kg class, winning all three by fall, and her only defeat was at the hands of the eventual gold medalist Koren Pitkethly of Saskatchewan.

For their outstanding athletic ability, contribution in the community and classroom success, Saskatchewan Huskies wrestler Landon Squires and Calgary’s Erica Wiebe were named CIS nominees for the Student-Athlete Community Service Award.

Squires, a fourth-year student-athlete seeking a Regional and Urban Planning Degree, has attended several planning meetings within the city of Saskatoon. He has been an Academic All-Canadian in every year of his studies, he is highly involved with “We Are Many” (WAM), an innovative, award-winning youth-run arts and environmental organization based in Saskatoon and he volunteers with the Big Brother organization. Squires is president-elect on the Huskie Athletics Council. This season he has won a silver medal at the Dino Open, Gold at the Huskie, Cougar and Wesmen Opens, and placed 5th at the Hargobind National Carding tournament.

Wiebe, the Dinos’ team captain, has been involved with several organizations, including Culos-Reed Health & Wellness Lab which is dedicated to improving the lives of cancer survivors through physical activity, the student-athlete advisory council, the Nordhagen, an international women’s tournament, as a co-chair and with the Board of directors for Calgary Amateur Wrestling Association

Taking Coach of the Year honours on both the men’s and women’s side is Alberta third-year head coach Owen Dawkins, himself a former Golden Bears wrestler. In this, his third year at the helm of Alberta’s program, he claims a second consecutive Canada West women’s coaching honour, an award he also won at the CIS level in 2011 after guiding the Pandas to a team gold medal. This year, the Pandas claimed their first-ever conference title, while the men placed second, one point behind host Regina.

Following are 2012 Canada West wrestling award winners & champions:


Wrestler of the Year

Male: Connor Malloy, Regina

Female: Erica Wiebe, Calgary

Rookie of the Year

Male: Dylan Williams, Alberta

Female: Jessica Brenton, Winnipeg

Student Athlete/Community Service Nominee

Male: Landon Squires, Saskatchewan

Female: Erica Wiebe, Calgary

Coach of the Year

Male: Owen Dawkins, Alberta

Female: Owen Dawkins, Alberta

Winners by Weight Class


54kg: Gilbert Musonza, U of R

57kg: Steve Schneider, U of R

61kg: Dylan Williams, U of A

65kg: Drew Belanger, U of A

68kg: Gaelan Malloy, U of R

72kg: Ryan Myrfield, U of S

76kg: Connor Malloy, U of R

82kg: Jason Margo, U of A

90kg: Landon Squires, U of S

130kg: Jacob Phillips, U of S


48kg: 1 Jasmine Slinn, U of R

51kg: 1 Natalie Brady, U of A

55kg: 1 Hayley Thomas, U of A

59kg: 1 Koren Pitkethly, U of S

63kg: 1 Kathleen Kent, U of S

67kg: 1 Lisa McKibben, U of R

72kg: 1 Erica Wiebe, U of C

82kg: 1 Holly Clark, U of C

Medal winners in each weight class now advance to the Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) wrestling championships, February 24-25 at Lakehead University in Thunder Bay, Ont.

David Bandla, Communications

Canada West Athletics

http://www.canadawest.org/” href=”http://www.canadawest.org/” moz-do-not-send=”true”>www.canadawest.org / www.canadawest.tv

(780) 266-WEST

cwuaa” on Twitter

About Canada West Universities Athletic Association

Canada West is consistently the most decorated of the four conferences in Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS), winning at least 10 CIS national titles every year, 1997 to 2010. Comprised of 16 schools from the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia, Canada West produces numerous major award winners and Academic All-Canadian student-athletes each year, with many going on to athletic success around the globe in pro leagues or events such as the Olympics, Paralympics or Universiade Games.

A proud member of Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS).