OTTAWA (ISN) -Thirty-six Canadians including Victoria’s Michael Saunders and Comox’s Taylor Green, will be in big-league camp as Spring Training opens this week across Florida and Arizona in preparation for the 2012 baseball season.

Twenty-six Canadians saw action in the big-leagues during 2011, marking the highest total ever. The season was highlighted by John Axford who recorded 46 saves for the Central Division winning Milwaukee Brewers. Joey Votto won the National League MVP in 2010 and made a case to repeat by hitting .309 with 29 homeruns and 103 RBI in 2011. Votto played in the All-Star Game in Arizona and was joined by Russell Martin of the New York Yankees.

Brett Lawrie made an impression in his rookie debut with the Toronto Blue Jays when he was called-up to the big-leagues in early August.

Scott Diamond, Rene Tosoni, Taylor Green and Trystan Magnuson all made the major league debuts in 2011, while Adam Loewen reached the big-leagues as a position player with the Toronto Blue Jays after he was forced to end his pitching career in 2008 as a member of the Baltimore Orioles.

Five players who helped Canada win gold last October at the Pan Am Games in Mexico: Scott Richmond, Kyle Lotzkar, Chris Robinson, Brock Kjeldgaard and Dustin Molleken, will be heading to big-league camp with their respective clubs.

Players in big-league camp (36):

C Russell Martin (Montréal, QC)

Red Sox
C Max St. Pierre (Québec City, QC)

Blue Jays
3B Brett Lawrie (Langley, BC)
RHP Trystan Magnuson (Vancouver, BC)
RHP Scott Richmond (Vancouver, BC)

White Sox
RHP Jesse Crain (Toronto, ON)
C Michael Blanke (Granby, QC)

OF Nick Weglarz (Stevensville, ON)
C Luke Carlin (Aylmer, QC)

1B Justin Morneau (New Westminster, BC)
OF Rene Tosoni (Port Coquitlam, BC)
LHP Scott Diamond (Guelph, ON)

OF Michael Saunders (Victoria, BC)
LHP Philippe Valiquette (Montréal, QC)
LHP James Paxton (Delta, BC)

C Chris Robinson (Dorchester, ON)

RHP Dustin Molleken (Regina, SK)

OF Jason Bay (Trail, BC)
OF Adam Loewen (Surrey, BC)
C Mike Nickeas (North Vancouver, BC)

INF Peter Orr (Newmarket, ON)
OF Tyson Gillies (Vancouver, BC)
RHP Phillippe Aumont (Gatineau, QC)

INF Mark Teahen (Redlands, CA)

RHP Ryan Dempster (Gibsons, BC)

1B Joey Votto (Etobicoke, ON)
LHP Jeff Francis (North Delta, BC)
RHP Kyle Lotzkar (Delta, BC)

RHP John Axford (Port Dover, ON)
3B Taylor Green (Comox, BC)
C George Kottaras (Toronto, ON)
OF Brock Kjeldgaard (London, ON)

RHP Chris Leroux (Mississauga, ON)
LHP Erik Bedard (Navan, ON)

LHP RJ Swindle (Vancouver, BC)

RHP Blake Hawksworth (North Vancouver, BC)