trinity western_spartans1

OTTAWA (CIS) – For the second time in program history, the reigning national champion Trinity Western University Spartans head into the CIS men’s volleyball championship as tournament favourites.

Championship website:

The seeding was announced Sunday for the 2012 CIS tourney set to kick off Friday at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ont. The eight-team competition concludes next Sunday, March 4 with the gold-medal at 4 p.m.

SSN Canada – in partnership with Queen’s QTV – will have live webcasts of all 11 matches, including the main and consolation brackets.

Rounding out the seeding behind Canada West champion Trinity Western are the No. 2 Manitoba Bisons (Canada West finalists), No. 3 Laval Rouge et Or (RSEQ champions), No. 4 Alberta Golden Bears (Canada West bronze medallists), No. 5 Queen’s Gaels (OUA champions and hosts), No. 6 Calgary Dinos (Canada West fourth-place finishers), No. 7 Western Mustangs (OUA finalists) and No. 8 Dalhousie Tigers (AUS champions).

The Spartans, who captured the second Tantramar Trophy in team history a year ago, had previously been seeded No. 1 for the 2007 CIS championship, one year after claiming their first national title. They returned home from the 2007 tournament with the bronze medal.

Trinity Western has been as dominant as ever this season, maintaining a CIS-best 19-1 record in conference play before securing its top-ranked status on Saturday night with a five-set win over Manitoba in the Canada West final.

On Friday, TWU will open its title defence in the last quarter-final match-up of opening day, an 8 p.m. affair against Dalhousie. The other first-round contests will see Laval battle Calgary at 1 p.m., Manitoba face Western at 3 p.m., and Alberta square off against host Queen’s at 6 p.m.

Canada West (including teams from the now defunct Great Plains conference) has dominated CIS men’s volleyball since the mid-1990s winning 17 consecutive banners since a Laval triumph in 1994.

Note: A complete championship preview will follow on Tuesday.


1. Trinity Western Spartans (CWUAA champions: 19-1 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)

2. Manitoba Bisons (CWUAA finalists: 18-2 regular season / 3-1 playoffs)

3. Laval Rouge et Or (RSEQ champions: 17-0 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)

4. Alberta Golden Bears (CWUAA bronze medallists: 15-5 regular season / 3-1 playoffs)

5. Queen’s Gaels (OUA champions: 12-6 regular season / 3-0 playoffs)

6. Calgary Dinos (CWUAA 4th place finishers: 11-9 regular season / 2-3 playoffs)

7. Western Mustangs (OUA finalists: 16-2 regular season / 1-1 playoffs)

8. Dalhousie Tigers (AUS champions: 12-5 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)


NOTE: Live webcast of all games on SSN Canada – in partnership with QTV.

Thursday, March 1

9:30 All-Canadian Awards Breakfast (Ambassador Hotel)

11:15 Press conference (Ambassador Hotel)

13:00 to 20:30 Team practices (90 minutes per team)

Friday, March 2

13:00 Quarter-final #1: No. 3 Laval vs. No. 6 Calgary

15:00 Quarter-final #2: No. 2 Manitoba vs. No. 7 Western

18:00 Quarter-final #3: No. 4 Alberta vs. No. 5 Queen’s

20:00 Quarter-final #4: No. 1 Trinity Western vs. No. 8 Dalhousie

Saturday, March 3

13:00 Consolation #1: Loser QF #1 vs. Loser QF #2

15:00 Consolation #2: Loser QF #3 vs. Loser QF #4

18:00 Semifinal #1: Winner QF #1 vs. Winner QF #2

20:00 Semifinal #2: Winner QF #3 vs. Winner QF #4

Sunday, March 4

11:00 5th place

13:00 Bronze medal

16:00 Championship final