vikes logo2
HALIFAX (ISN) – University of Victoria Vikes guard Ryan MacKinnon was named as a second-team CIS All-Canadian on Thursday, becoming the first Vikes men’s basketball player since Chris Trumpy (2005-06) to earn All-Canadian recognition and the 21st winner in the program’s history.

A fifth-year education student from Comox, B.C., MacKinnon had a stellar final season, leading UVic to the Canada West Final Four. He finished third in the conference in scoring, averaging 19.9 points per game and was in the Top 15 in seven statistical categories (3rd 3PT/GM – 3.5/gm / 7th PPG – 19.9 PPG / 9th 3PT Made – 55 Made / 12th in Steals – 40 / 14th in 3PT% – 45.8 / 14th in Points – 358 / 15th in FG/G – 6.5/gm) despite playing fewer games than most other leaders (Canada West Pacific Division teams played in just 18 regular season games).

MacKinnon might have saved his best Canada West regular season game for his last, rolling off a screen to catch and deliver a heart-breaking dagger into the hearts of the then No. 5 nationally ranked UBC Thunderbirds, as the Vikes won 90-83 to clinch first place in the Canada West Pacific Division on Feb. 17 in Victoria. The shooting guard’s clutch trey put UVic up 86-83 with 25 seconds left to play and provided the winning points.

With plans to explore options as a professional player, MacKinnon finishes his career with 204 career three-pointers, good for fifth all-time in Canada West play. He led the Canada West in three-pointers made in 2011-12 (55) and was third in the Canada West and seventh in the CIS in scoring (19.9 PPG). The strong two-way guard was also fifth in the Canada West in free-throw percentage (.831), fourth in steals per game (2.2 per game), and second in three-point percentage (.458).

MacKinnon led the Vikes in scoring in 13 of their 18 games this season in conference play and 15 of 21 against CIS opponents. He also scored the game-winning basket on a three-pointer in three of the Vikes 14 wins this season. He also has an impressive True Shooting Percentage (takes into account field goals, three-point field goals and free-throws) of 62.7% and a team-high Effective Field Goal % of 57.8 % (adjusts to include additional points from 3-pointers).

In five playoff games, MacKinnon recorded 99 points, seven steals, five blocks and 17 assists, and scored a career-high 33 points in a 90-88 win over Calgary to advance the Vikes to the Canada West Final 4.

Meanwhile, Philip Scrubb, a second-year guard from Carleton University and son of former Vikes player Lloyd Scrubb, was named the most outstanding player in CIS men’s basketball Thursday night.

The 19-year-old from Richmond, B.C., became the fifth Raven in seven years – and the fifth in program history – to claim the Mike Moser Memorial Trophy. He follows back-to-back recipient Osvaldo Jeanty (2006, 2007), national team member Aaron Doornekamp (2008) and current teammate Tyson Hinz (2011). Hinz was also a 19-year-old sophomore when he captured the award last season.

Other major award winners for the 2011-12 campaign include Carleton head coach Dave Smart, named CIS coach of the year, Lakehead guard Greg Carter of Ottawa, who was named defensive player of the year; McMaster guard Adam Presutti of Oakville, Ont., the recipient of the Dr. Mullins Trophy as the nation’s top freshman; and Guelph forward Daniel McCarthy, a Guelph native who claimed the Ken Shields Award recognizing excellence in basketball, academics and community involvement.

Vikes head coach Craig Beaucamp was a nominee for the CIS coach of the year award.

The 50th CIS championship gets under way Friday at the Metro Centre in Halifax and culminates Sunday at 4:30 p.m. Atlantic Time with the gold medal final, live on EastLink TV and SSN Canada (championship website).

First-team All-Canadians included Scrubb, guards Jamelle Barrett of Saskatchewan, Jimmy Dorsey of Cape Breton and Jordan Baker of Alberta, as well as Carleton forward Tyson Hinz. Hinz, last year’s CIS MVP, and Barrett were both voted to the top unit for a second straight season.

Joining MacKinnon on the second-team All-Canadian list are four other first-time all-Canadians, including guards Venzal Russell of Lakehead and Terry Thomas of St. Francis Xavier, as well as forwards Evens Laroche of Concordia and Owen Klassen of Acadia.

Mike Moser Memorial Trophy (player of the year): Philip Scrubb, Carleton
Defensive player of the year: Greg Carter, Lakehead
Dr. Peter Mullins Trophy (rookie of the year): Adam Presutti, McMaster
Stuart W. Aberdeen Memorial Trophy (coach of the year – presented by Coaches of Canada): Dave Smart, Carleton
Ken Shields Award (basketball, academics & community service): Daniel McCarthy, Guelph