vikes logo2

(ISN) – 
National men’s sevens coach Geraint John and Rugby Canada announced today the 13-member Canadian squad heading to Hong Kong at the end of March for the International Rugby Board HSBC Sevens tournament. Among that group are current Vikes men’s rugby players Sean Duke (Vancouver, BC) and Nathan Hirayama (Richmond, BC).


Following an impressive victory last month at the Las Vegas sevens tournament, the Canadians are looking to have great success in Asia. In Las Vegas, the Canadians were victorious over the United States, Uruguay and Japan before defeating Australia 19-17 in the bowl final.

The Vegas victory stems from a fantastic showing at the Wellington sevens tournament in New Zealand, where Canada excelled to the top of their group but were knocked out in the quarter-finals. Canada also had success in a big win over Samoa while in Dubai and they competed in the Bowl final in South Africa earlier in the season.

Uvic Vike Rugby Sean Duke shown here was chosen to Canada’s Hong Kong Sevens squad (file photo)-Erich Eichhorn image (

Vikes veterans Duke and Hirayama are familiar faces on the world stage, having suited up in the red and white multiple times. Both Duke and Hirayama are coming off a victory in the University sevens tournament, where they helped the Vikes capture the Plate Final 24-19 over the McMaster Marauders. The University Sevens tournament was hosted last weekend, Mar. 3-4, in Langford, B.C.

Duke and Hirayama will join with the recently-named squad on Mar. 12 for some team preparation before departing on Mar. 15 for Hong Kong.

Vikes Nathan Hirayama was also chosen to Canada’s Hong Kong Sevens squad (file photo)- Erich Eichhorn image ( )

The Canadian men will face Spain, Zimbabwe and the Phillipines in Pool E competition. The two finalists and the winner of the 3rd/4th play-off will secure core team status and join the 12 existing core teams at each round of the 2012-13 HSBC Sevens World Series. These 12 teams comprise the regional champions and others who qualified based on their performances in their regional events – four are from Asia, three from Europe, two from North America & Caribbean, one from Oceania, one from South America and one from Africa.

The National Men’s Sevens team is proudly sponsored by Macquarie Financial in association with Trafigura Ltd.

2012 Hong Kong Sevens Squad
Tyler Ardron (McMaster Marauders, Ontario Blues) (Peterborough, ON)
Nanyak Dala (Castaway Wanderers, Prairie Wolf Pack) (Saskatoon, SK)
Sean Duke (University of Victoria, British Columbia) (Vancouver, BC)
Ciaran Hearn (Castaway Wanderers, The Rock) (Conception Bay, NL)
Nathan Hirayama (University of Victoria, British Columbia) (Richmond, BC)
Taylor Paris (Markham Irish Canadians, Ontario Blues) (Barrie, ON)
Conor Trainor (UBC, Old Boy Ravens, British Columbia) (Vancouver, BC)
Sean White (James Bay, British Columbia) (Victoria, BC)
Harry Jones (University of British Columbia, British Columbia) (Vancouver, BC)
Mike Scholz (Castaway Wanderers, Ontario Blues) (Oakville, ON)
Chauncey O’Toole (Belleisle Rovers, Ospreys, The Rock) (Saint John, NB)
Jeff Hassler (Okotoks RFC, Prairie Wolf Pack) (Okotoks, AB)
John Moonlight (James Bay, Ontario Blues) (Scarborough, ON)

James Bay’s Sean White, shown here against Uvic , was chosen to represent Canada at the Hong Kong Sevens rugby tournament the end of March (file photo)- Erich Eichhorn image ( )