Calgary’s Tapp, York’s Richards-Kwok Honoured

OTTAWA (ISN) – Amanda Tapp, a hockey player from the University of Calgary, and Dontae Richards-Kwok, a track and field athlete from York University, are the CIS female and male athletes of the week for the period ending March 11, 2012.

Tapp, a third-year arts student from Calgary, was named the most valuable player of the CIS women’s hockey championship held at the University of Alberta in Edmonton after she helped the third-seeded Dinos capture the first national title in program history. In the pool play opener, the 5-foot-10 goaltender came out on top of her duel with two-time Olympic gold medallist netminder Charline Labonté, registering a 20-save shutout as the Dinos upset defending champion McGill 1-0. Tapp added 14 stops in a 4-2 pool win over host Alberta and 27 in a 5-1 gold medal victory against Montreal to finish the tournament with a 1.00 goals against average and a stellar .953 save percentage.

Track and field standouts Ashley Ryer of Dalhousie, Kimberly Hyacinthe of UQAM and Jennifer Perrault of Ottawa were also nominated for the women’s award.

Richards-Kwok, a fourth-year arts student from Mississauga, Ont., was named the outstanding male athlete at the CIS indoor track and field championships held at the University of Manitoba, in Winnipeg. The senior sprinter claimed gold in the 60 metres with a personal-best time of 6.73 seconds, defended his title in the 300m in 33.74 seconds, and ran the opening leg of the Lions’ silver medal-winning 4×200 relay. Richards-Kwok contributed 33 of his team’s 72 points over the weekend as York finished fourth in the men’s standings.

Track and field stars Simon Watts of Dalhousie and Charles Philibert-Thiboutot of Laval, as well as Alberta basketball player Daniel Ferguson were the other male nominees.

Female nominees:

AUS: Ashley Ryer, track and field, Dalhousie

RSEQ: Kimberly Hyacinthe, track and field, UQAM

OUA: Jennifer Perrault, track and field, Ottawa

CWUAA: Amanda Tapp, hockey, Calgary (recipient)

Male nominees:

AUS: Simon Watts, track and field, Dalhousie

RSEQ: Charles Philibert-Thiboutot, track and field, Laval

OUA: Dontae Richards-Kwok, track and field, York (recipient)

CWUAA: Daniel Ferguson, basketball, Alberta