(ISN) – University of Victoria forward Dustin Taylor was named the Most Valuable Player at the 2012 B.C. Intercollegiate Hockey League Championhips following a vote held by league coaches.

Taylor led all scorers at the tournament with seven points in four games and will be best remembered for scoring the overtime winner that saw the Vikes topple top-seeded Simon Fraser University to capture their third league title in six years.

The 21-year old notched three points each in back-to-back games in the tournament semi-finals and finals and also chipped in with a shootout marker in UVic’s 7-6 victory over Okanagan College.

IMG 6756
UVic’s Dustin Taylor is the 2012 BCIHL Championship MVP (Photo by Christian J. Stewart – ISN)

Taylor also was named to the 2012 BCIHL Championships All-Star Team along with teammates Brent Sutherland and Doug Evans. SFU forward Bill Smith and goaltender Graeme Gordon also made the squad along with Okanagan College defenceman Dave Mann.


Most Valuable Player:

Dustin Taylor, University of Victoria

All-Star Team:

F: Dustin Taylor, University of Victoria

F: Bill Smith, Simon Fraser University

F: Brent Sutherland, University of Victoria

D: Doug Evans, University of Victoria

D: Dave Mann, Okanagan College

G: Graeme Gordon, Simon Fraser University