(ISN) – Following the six-day Canadian Olympic swimming trial event, held in Montreal, a total of 31 athletes were nominated for the Canadian 2012 London Olympic Games team. Of that, 17 are current or former CIS swimmers with three having ties to the UVic Vikes swimming program.

Former Vikes Hilary Caldwell, Stephanie Horner and Ryan Cochrane have all qualified for the London Games. Several other Vikes were also at the Olympic trials, achieving several personal bests.

In the final days of the Olympic trials, current Vike Nicholas Sinclair competed in the A-final of the 400-m freestyle event. Former Vike and CIS rookie of the year, Cochrane had already pre-qualified for the 400-m. To qualify for London, second place in a time under 3:48.92 was required. Sinclair took an aggressive start and was left a bit off pace, finishing sixth in a time of 3:55.63. This was the third time Sinclair has been under the four-minute mark in this event. Though already qualified, Cochrane raced to a first-place finish with an un-rested time of 3:47.07.

Former Vike Mackenzie Downing earned her second medal of the meet in the 200-m butterfly event. Downing finished with a bronze in a time of 2:10.37.

Both Ian Mattock and Sinclair competed in the 200 IM, finishing within four-tenths of each other. Mattock earned his fifth-consecutive best time of the meet at 2:08.68, while Sinclair touched in just ahead in 2:08.29.

Caldwell, who competed for the Vikes in the 2010-11 season, qualified for the Olympic team in the 200-m Backstroke event. Caldwell had a silver medal performance in a time of 2:09.14.

Cochrane rounded out the qualifications by winning gold in the 1500-m freestyle in a time of 15:09.80, an event he had already pre-qualified for.

Other CIS stars past and present who claimed an Olympic berth over the last six days include UBC’s Heather MacLean (4×100 free), Martha McCabe (200 breaststroke), Tera Van Beilen (100-200 breast), Scott Dickens (100-200 breast, 4×100 medley) and Brent Hayden (50-100 free, 4×100 free); Victoria’s Hilary Caldwell (200 backstroke), Stephanie Horner (400 IM) and Ryan Cochrane (400 free, 1500 free); Calgary’s Erica Morningstar (200 IM) and Amanda Reason (4×200 free); as well as Montreal’s Audrey Lacroix (200 butterfly), McGill’s Victoria Poon (50 free, 4×100 free), Guelph’s Andrew Ford (200 IM), Toronto’s Colin Russell (4×100 free) and Dalhousie’s David Sharpe (200 fly).