vrcing hofCrest

(ISN) – The Victoria Auto Racing Hall of Fame (VARHOF) is celebrating its 28th Anniversary in 2012 and will be honouring three inductees and three award recipients at their award ceremony April 28th at the Eagle Ridge Community Centre.

VARHOF is celebrating thier 28th Anniversary in 2012. This Auto Racing Hall of Fame is the first one formed in Canada. They are introducing 3 new Inductees this year (totalling now 80) and also 3 new Pioneer Award recipients (totaling now 68). This year’s Inductees are: Al Clark, Tim Christy and Gordie Alberg. This year’s Pioneers are: Harold Corbett, Mark Meeres, and Barbara Prettie.

This year’s special ceremony will be held at the Eagle Ridge Community Centre located at 1089 Langford Parkway on Saturday, April 28th. There will be seating for at least 400 plus there will be quite a few vehicles on display as well as other historical racing memorabilia and photos.

Doors will be opened for everyone who wishes to attend this function at 4:00 PM and the ceremony will begin at 5:00 to 5:30 PM and will be followed by the free light meal availability for everybody. The cost of admission is only $20 at the door.

Also in addition there are free HOF Programs and free tickets to attend the Haslam Memorial Hall of Fame race at Western Speedway on Saturday, June 30th.

The WILROC Wingless Sprint Cars will be competing for this Trophy. Also racing that night are the Mini Stock Car Class, the Dwarf Car Class and the Hornet Car Class. It should be a great show for the fans donated by the fantastic Western Speedway Management to this Hall of Fame function.

Also, the Hall of Fame Museum located at Western Speedway will be opened free of charge for all attendees to enjoy all the historical memorabilia which is on display there.