Victoria, BC (ISN) – The eighth and last race in the Frontrunners Island Race Series – Sooke 10K – took place yesterday, Sunday, April 15. The race, which was hosted by the Island Road Racers Club, had 352 finishers. The race was followed by the year-end awards for the entire series.

In the men’s race Joel Deschiffart (Bastion Running Club) won in 33:28, second was Shawn Nelson (Frontrunners Athletic Club) in 34:09, and third was Jorge Para in 34:33. Para was also the top male master.

The top female was Julie Van Veelen (Prairie Inn Harriers) in 39:09, second was Sarah Daitch (Aspire Running) in 40:14, and third was Isabelle Fillion (Frontrunners Athletic Club) in 40:18. Deborah Epps (Bastion Running Club) was the top female master finishing in 43:03.

“We have been organizing the Sooke 10k for 11 years and although we are a small club we have great volunteers who come out and help,” said Ken Chew, Race Director. “It’s nice to host a rural race outside ofVictoriaand to have such great support.”

The Frontrunners Green Jersey for the fastest male sprinter over the last 100-metres was won by Byron Trajan in the open category (14.30) and Walter Cantwell in the masters category (14:32). Jennifer Mickelson won the female open in 17:35 and Kimberley Dray the masters in 19 seconds.

The overall series was won by Sean Chester (Aspire Running) with 840 points. Care Nelson (Frontrunners Athletic Club) won the female open with 834 points. The masters men was won by Vince Brotherston (Comox Valley Road Runners) with 771 points and the top female master was Nancy Baxendale (Prairie Inn Harriers) with 783 points.

The Prairie Inn Harriers, Victoria won the club standings with 4,272 points, followed by Comox Valley Road Runners with 2,761 and Frontrunners Athletic Club with 2,125.

Full gun time results from the Sooke 10k are on;race=295. The Individual Series Standings are on;race=295.

Historical results from races dating back to 1980 from previous race series can be seen on