Calgary, AB (ISN) – The Western Hockey League today announced that Tri-City’s Brendan Shinnimin is the WHL Western Conference finalist for the 2011-12 WHL Player of the Year. The two finalists for WHL Player of the Year are determined through voting by General Managers, coaches, broadcast and media representatives of all WHL Member Clubs.

Shinnimin, a Winnipeg, MB, native, enjoyed an excellent season for the Americans, leading them to their fourth U.S. Division title over the last five seasons and first place in the WHL Western Conference. In his 20-year-old campaign, Shinnimin recorded 58 goals and 76 assists for 134 points along with a +45 rating in 69 games for the Americans, capturing the Bob Clarke trophy as the WHL’s top regular-season scorer.

Shinnimin’s 134 points marks the highest point total for a WHL player since the 1998-99 season, when Calgary’s Pavel Brendl also had 134 points. The 5’10”, 175-lb pivot finished second among all WHL players with 58 goals and third among WHL players with 76 assists. Additionally, Shinnimin finished second in the WHL with 21 power play markers and second with seven shorthanded tallies. His nine game-winning goals tied him for third among all WHL players, while his +45 rating tied him for the WHL lead in that category. Shinnimin maintained consistent production throughout the season, recording at least one point in 60 of 69 games he played, and enjoyed point streaks of at least 13 games on two different occasions, including ending the regular season on a 23-game point streak. Shinnimin was named the Husky WHL Player of the Month for February after piling up an astounding 23 goals and 43 points in just 14 games.

Shinnimin has played four seasons in the WHL, all with the Americans, recording 131 goals and 206 assists for 337 points in 267 regular-season games. He is just the second member of the Americans to win the WHL scoring title. Passed over in the 2006 WHL Bantam Draft, Shinnimin was listed by the Americans and made the team as a 17-year-old in 2008-09. Shinnimin signed an entry-level NHL contract with the Phoenix Coyotes in early March.

The recipients of all WHL individual awards will be announced at the 2012 WHL Awards Luncheon, which will be held in Calgary, Alberta, on Wednesday, May 2, 2012.