Oil Kings Logo

(ISN) – The Edmonton Oil Kings were crowned Husky WHL Eastern Conference Champions on Friday night after defeating the Moose Jaw Warriors 4-1 in Game 5 of the Western Conference final in Edmonton, AB. 

Oil Kings netminder Laurant Brossoit was named the Eastern Conference Championship Series MVP following the game and he will enter the WHL Championship with a league leading 1.62 GAA and a brilliant 0.945 save percentage.

The Game 5 win gave the Oil Kings a 4-1 best-of-seven series win over the Warriors, and moves them on to the WHL Championship series where they will meet the Kal Tire WHL Western Conference Champion Portland Winterhawks.

Martin Gernat scored a pair of goals while Michael St. Croix and Curtis Lazar each added singles for the Oil Kings, who scored twice in the opening period as they post their seventh straight home-ice win in the playoffs.  Griffin Reinhart and Tyler Maxwell each picked up a pair of assists in the win.

Sam Fioretti scored the only goal for the Warriors, who allowed two goals on three Oil Kings’ man advantage chances while going scoreless on seven power play chances of their own. 

Netminder Laurent Brossoit made 37 saves to claim the victory for the Oil Kings, who have won 23 of their last 24 games.  Rookie Justin Paulic stopped 20 of 24 shots to take the loss in his second straight start.

The Oil Kings will host the Winterhawks for Game 1 of the 2012 WHL Championship series on Thursday, May 3rd in Edmonton.

Edmonton wins best-of-seven series 4-1