Winterhawks and Oil Kings to Square Off in WHL Final

whl cup

Calgary, AB (ISN) –  The Edmonton Oil Kings and Portland Winterhawks will square off in the 2012 WHL Championship series beginning Thursday May 3 in Edmonton.

Portland advances to the final after a four game sweep of the Tri-City Americans in the Western Conference final, while edmonton dispatched Moose Jaw four games to one in the East.

The winner of the WHL Championship Series will be presented the Ed Chynoweth Cup and represent the WHL at the 2012 MasterCard Memorial Cup in Shawinigan, Quebec. 


All Start Times Are Local

#1 – Portland @ Edmonton; Thursday, May 3 (7:00pm MT)
#2 – Portland @ Edmonton; Friday, May 4 (7:00pm MT)
#3 – Edmonton @ Portland; Sunday, May 6 (6:00pm PT), Rose Garden
#4 – Edmonton @ Portland; Tuesday, May 8 (7:00pm PT), Rose Garden
#5 – Portland @ Edmonton; Thursday, May 10 (7:00pm MT)**
#6 – Edmonton @ Portland; Saturday, May 12 (TBD), Rose Garden**
#7 – Portland @ Edmonton; Sunday, May 13 (TBD)**
** – if necessary

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!