TC10K 2012

By Louise Hodgson-Jones (Photos by Tony Austin)

12,483 runners and walkers took part in the 23rd annual TC10K with Kenyans Kip Kangogo and Willy Kimosop finishing first and second respectively in the men’s elite field.

Victoria, BC (ISN) – The 23rd Annual TC10K took place today under cloudy skies – ideal conditions for the 12,483 registrants. Eleven thousand, eight hundred and eighty three (11,883) registered for the 10-kilometre race and 600 for the Thrifty Foods 1.5K Family Fun Run. Ten thousand, two hundred and fifty eight (10,258) finished the 10K and with the 600 in the family run, total participants were 10,858.

TC10K 2012 start
12,483 runers and walkers hit the road at the start of the TC 10K on Sunday.

The much anticipated men’s field, that included the 2010 winner Kip Kangogo and 2009 and 2011 winner Willy Kimosop, didn’t disappoint the hundreds of spectators. The favourite, Kangogo, won in 29:51 followed by Kimosop in 30:05. The score between the two is now equal between the two Kenyans, who are both landed immigrants living in Lethbridge, Alberta. Joseph Gray from Newcastle, WA, and 9-time USA National team member, was third in 30:24.

Kangogo has had some notable results this year with a win at Vancouver’s Harry’s Spring-Off 8K, and second at the Vancouver Sun Run. He also ran 28:09 at the Sporting Life 10K in Toronto.

Kangogo was happy with his run: “The crowds were great and cheering me on,” he said. “Because of my win, my company Flaman Fitness will donate $1,000 to one of the charities supported by the TC10K.”

TC10K Kip Kangogo
Kenyan Kip Kangog was the men’s elite winner in a time of 29:51.

The women’s race was dominated by Natasha Wodak-Fraser from Port Moody, BC. Her time of 34:32 came just two weeks after victory in the Vancouver Sun Run. She is also the course record holder for the GoodLife Fitness Victoria Half Marathon, a record she shattered in 2011. Six-time TC10K winner Victoria’s Lucy Smith was second in 35:14, and Calgary’s Lisa Harvey third in 35:23.

TC10K Natasha Wodak Fraser
Natasha Wodak-Fraser crossed the line in 34:32 to win the women’s division Sunday. 

Smith also won the women’s masters title, an honour that she covets. “My main goal was to win the master’s,” she said. In the last two years Harvey has pipped her to the post. “I held back during the race so I could sprint to the finish.” said Smith. Harvey was second master in 35:23, and Marilyn Arsenault third in 35:33. The men’s masters race was a repeat of 2011 with Vancouver’s Kevin O’Connor winning in 31:48, second was Craig Odermatt in 32:31, and third was Bruce Deacon in 32:41.Top male Canadian was David Jackson (Abbotsford, BC) in 30:34, and Wodak-Fraser was the top female.

Two age class records were set – in the M45-49 group by Kevin O’Connor (31:48), and in the F50-54 by Nancy Baxendale (Shawnigan Lake, BC) in 38:09.

The wheelchair race was won by Vancouver’s Masashi Shinoda in 29:19. Second was three-time Paralympic Gold Medalist Michelle Stilwell in 30:54, and third was Alvin Lee (Vancouver) in 50:43.

The official results of the TC10K are on .