rowing canada

Islanders selected include Jennerich, Howard, Calder, Braithwaite and Crowley

(ISN) – Rowing Canada Aviron is pleased to announce its team for the 2012 Samsung World Rowing Cup in Lucerne, Switzerland – May 25 to 27, 2012.

“We have gone through a rigorous selection process and I’m very excited to see what this team can do on the world stage in Lucerne later this month,” said Peter Cookson, Rowing Canada Aviron High Performance Director.

All crews have qualified for the 2012 Olympics, with the exception of the women’s pair. This boat will compete at the final qualifier in Lucerne from May 20 to 23, 2012.

Media will have the opportunity to meet the athletes on May 07, 2012 in Toronto, Ontario, at the Palais Royale on the Lakeshore at 5:30 pm.

Rowing Canada Aviron has not yet nominated its Olympic athletes, and will do so in June.

Women’s Eight 8+:

Lesley Thompson-Willie (London, ON) London Rowing Club
Darcy Marquardt (Richmond, BC), University of Victoria RC
Ashley Brzozowicz (London, ON), Western Rowing Club
Lauren Wilkinson (North Vancouver, BC), Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Andreanne Morin (Montreal, QC), Montreal Rowing Club
Rachelle Viinberg (Regina, SK) University of Victoria RC
Krista Guloien (Port Moody, BC) Western RC
Cristy Nurse (Georgetown, ON), Ottawa Rowing Club
Janine Hanson (Winnipeg, MB), Winnipeg Rowing Club

Women’s Pair 2- (will race in the qualifier):

Larissa Lagzdins (Burlington, ON), Brock University Rowing Club
Natalie Mastracci (Thorold, ON), St. Catharines Rowing Club

Light Women’s Double LW2x:

Tracy Cameron (Shubenacadie, NS), Calgary Rowing Club
Lindsay Jennerich (Victoria, BC), University of Victoria

Women’s Alternates (racing as a pair in Lucerne)

Sarah Black (Ottawa, ON) Ottawa Rowing Club
Carolyn Ganes (Saskatoon, SK), Western Rowing Club

Men’s Eight 8+:

Brian Price (Belleville, ON) Quinte Rowing Club
Will Crothers (Kingston, ON), Kingston Rowing Club
Jeremiah Brown (Cobourg, ON), Peterborough Rowing Club
Andrew Byrnes (Toronto, ON), St. Catharines Rowing Club
Malcolm Howard (Victoria, BC) Brentwood College Rowing Club
Conlin McCabe (Brockville, ON) Brockville Rowing Club
Rob Gibson (Kingston, ON), Kingston Rowing Club
Doug Csima (Oakville, ON), Leander Boat Club
Gabe Bergen (100 Mile House, BC), University of Victoria

Men’s Four 4-:

Derek O’Farrell (Montreal, QC) McGill Rowing Club
Anthony Jacob (Vancouver, BC) Vancouver College
Mike Wilkinson (North Vancouver, BC) Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Peter McClelland (Aurora/King City, ON) Ottawa Rowing Club

Men’s Pair 2-:

Scott Frandsen (Kelowna, BC) Brentwood College
David Calder (Victoria, BC) Brentwood College

Men’s Double 2x:

Kevin Kowalyk (Winnipeg, MB) Winnipeg Rowing Club
Michael Braithwaite (Duncan, BC) University of Toronto RC

Light Men’s Double LM2x:

Morgan Jarvis (Winnipeg, MB) Kingston Rowing Club
Doug Vandor (Dewittville, QC) McGill University

Men’s Team Alternates:

Spencer Crowley (Lantzville, BC), Brentwood College
Will Dean (Kelowna, BC), Brentwood College

Mike Spracklen
Terry Paul
Kenny Wu
Allison Dobb
Al Morrow
John Keogh

Note: the heavyweight women are based in London, ON, and the remainder of the team trains out of Victoria, B.C.