WBC Logo_col_E

Richmond, BC (ISN) 
– With the tournament’s most outstanding offensive players at the helm the BC Breakers propelled themselves to a 77-56 win over the Calgary Rollers in the women’s gold medal final of the 2012 National Championships; while Ontario claimed first place in the men’s final with a golden 76-52 win over the BC provincial team Sunday at the Richmond Olympic Oval.

Women’s Gold Medal Final

The BC Breakers take home the Dr. Donald Royer Trophy and establish themselves as the top women’s club team in the country. Janet McLachlan continued to be an offensive juggernaut scoring a monstrous 47 points and 13 rebounds. She finished the tournament averaging 34.5 points per game, which is more than double the next highest person and was easily voted the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

“It’s great winning at home in front of the crowd here and family and friends. And to be a part of the Rick Hansen event, it’s fantastic to win it here. It’s always good to win. Calgary came out and played a really hard game and we had to be sharp and luckily we were that today,” said McLachlan.

“Everyone played really well. We moved the ball well and played stretches of really good defense and we did what we needed to do to win so that’s what’s important.”

Men’s Gold Medal Final

Ontario claimed the Robert W. Jackson Trophy as national champions putting an end to BC’s string of five tournament wins in a row. They were led by men’s tournament MVP Patrick Anderson who scored 27 points, 14 rebounds, and 13 assists (all game-highs) to secure the tournament’s only triple-double.

Through the course of the tournament Anderson paced the floor with 24.4 points per game thanks to some terrific shooting. He shot 70.5% from the field (1st overall) and 83.3% from the free-throw line (2ndoverall).

“We’ve played BC in the finals three years in a row and it feels great to come out on top this time. I think it’s the start of a new Ontario dynasty and a really big step for the Ontario men’s program. We have a lot of younger players that are up and coming and this was an opportunity to get them involved, give them the experience and get them ready for future tournaments,” said Ontario All Star Abdi Dini.

All Stars & MVPs

Men’s MVP – Patrick Anderson – Ontario

All star – Abdi Dini – Ontario

All star – Chad Jassman – Calgary

All star – Bo Hedges – BC

All star – David Eng – Quebec

All star – Erik Hagreen – BC

Women’s MVP – Janet McLachlan – BC Breakers

All star – Tamara Steeves – Ontario

All star – Kendra Ohama – Calgary

All star – Cindy Ouellet – Quebec

All star – Lori Radke – Calgary

All star – Karla Tritten – Edmonton

Men’s Bronze Medal Game

The Quebec men defeated Alberta 64-38 to claim their third straight bronze medal at the National Championships. They finish the 2012 tournamentwith a 2-3 record.

Quebec’s Carl Pelletier scored a game-high 20 points and 11 rebounds. Teammate Maxime Poulin also had a double-double with 14 points and 12 rebounds.

Chad Jassman, also a member of the Senior Men’s National Team, led Alberta with 8 points.

Women’s Bronze Medal Game

The Quebec women won a close game against the Edmonton Inferno 50-48 to claim their third straight podium finish. They finished first in 2011 and third in 2010.

Gabrielle Cote, who scored a game-high 21 points, led Quebec offensively. Women’s national team member Cindy Ouellet tallied 14 points.

The 2012 National Championships is celebrating the theme of “Difference Makers” in honour of Rick Hansen and the 25th anniversary of the Man in Motion World Tour. The 25th Anniversary Relay made its way to the Richmond Oval Sunday for a special public celebration following the championship games.

The tournament featured elite players from across Canada, including members of the Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s National Teams utilizing the opportunity to hone their skills in advance of the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Final Men’s Standings

1 – Ontario

2 – BC

3 – Quebec

4 – Alberta

Final Women’s Standings

1 – BC Breakers

2 – Calgary Rollers

3 – Quebec

4 – Edmonton Inferno

5 – Saskatchewan

6 – Ontario

7 – Wildcards


Day 1 Men’s Results:


Men – Ontario 66 Alberta 31

Men – British Columbia 73 Quebec 63

Men – Ontario 67 Quebec 51

Men – British Columbia 77 Alberta 48

Day 2 Men’s Results:

Men – Ontario 67 British Columbia 65

Men – Quebec 81 Alberta 37

Men’s Semifinal – Ontario 60 Alberta 37

Men’s Semifinal – British Columbia 83 Quebec 81

Day 3 Men’s Results:


Men’s Bronze – Quebec 64 Alberta 38

Men’s Gold – Ontario76 BC 52

Day 1 Women’s Results:

Women – Quebec 56 Ontario 24

Women – Edmonton 69 Saskatchewan 18

Women – Calgary 56 Saskatchewan 18

Women – Edmonton 61 Wild Cards 21

Women – Calgary 65 Wild Cards 23

Women – British Columbia 49 Ontario 29

Day 2 Women’s Results:


Women – British Columbia 76 Quebec 59

Women – Saskatchewan 39 Wildcards 17

Women – Calgary 73 Edmonton 47

Women – Ontario 46 Wild Cards 37

Women’s Semifinal – BC 74 Edmonton 66

Women’s Semifinal – Calgary 59 Quebec 51

Day 3 Women’s Results

Women’s 5/6 – Saskatchewan 47 Ontario 34

Women’s Bronze – Quebec 50 Edmonton 48

Women’s Gold – BC 77 Calgary 56


For more information, including stats, and photos please visit: www.wheelchairbasketball.ca

About British Columbia Wheelchair Basketball Society

BCWBSis a non-profit organization formed in 1983 and registered with Revenue Canada as a charitysince 1985. The Society provides support to wheelchair basketball programs throughout British Columbia. For more information, please visit www.bcwbs.ca.

About Wheelchair Basketball Canada

Wheelchair Basketball Canada is the national sports governing body responsible for the organization of wheelchair basketball in Canada. It is a non-profit, charitable organization that is the Canadian member to the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF).

Wheelchair basketball is a fast paced, hard-hitting, competitive sport that has emerged as one of the most competitive and athletic sports played at the Paralympic Games. Our senior national teams are held in high esteem around the world for the elite skill and control that placed them on the podium with a combined five gold and one silver medal in the last five Paralympic Games.