Canadian Tour golf

(ISN) – The Canadian Tour is set to begin another season at the Times Colonist Island Savings Open, a staple on the Canadian Tour for 29 years. Play at the 29th playing of the Victoria Open is set to begin on Thursday June 7, 2011 with a field of 156 players representing 11 countries. 

Four past champions will tee it up this week in Victoria and they include 2010 winner Brock MacKenzie, 2009 Winner Daniel Im, 2006 winner Mike Grob and 1996 winner Arden Knoll is making his return to the Canadian after last playing the Canadian Tour in 2003. 2011 winner Jose de Jesus Rodriguez will be playing on the Nationwide Tour this week at the Mexican Open.
A number of local players are in the field including amateur standouts Cory Renfrew, Mitch Evanecz and Parker Lilly who all gained status on the Canadian Tour at the California Q-School. A total of 13 Victoria residents will be playing this week in their hometown including 2011 Canadian Tour Championship winner Stuart Anderson who is a member of the Nationwide Tour. Anderson is coming off his best performance where he finished in a tie for 31st at the Rex Hospital Open.
A number of former PGA TOUR members will also be playing this week in Victoria and they include Grob, Tyler AldridgeWil CollinsBoyd Summerhays and Will Strickler who played the PGA TOUR in 2011.
Two veteran members making their return to the Canadian Tour are former Big Break winner Brian Kontak and 1999 CPGA Championship winner Scott Petersen, who both last played in 2002.
Click here for the rest of the Times Colonist Island Savings Open storylines.
Click hereto view the field.

Click here to view first & second round tee times.

For live scoring please visit starting Thursday morning at 8:00 AM PST.