VANCOUVER – Two-time defending BC Sevens Series champions Burnaby Lake Rugby Club went undefeated on Saturday to win the Vancouver Rugby Sevens men’s elite division at the first of three official stops on the 2012 provincial circuit.

The women’s elite division was won by the Seattle Mudhens who blanked Fraser Valley club Abbotsford RFC 22-0 in the cup final. The social division title went to representative side Youngbucks who edged Untouchables for first place.

Burnaby Lake go undefeated in men’s elite play

Burnaby went 3-0 in the pool rounds defeating hosts Meralomas 19-5, Youngbucks 12-5 and Seattle 28-5. Burnaby edged Meralomas 12-5 in the semifinals and then ran riot in the cup final, defeating Bayside 42-0. Tournament MVP Admir Cejvanovic paced Burnaby with two tries and was ruthless on defence as his team held high-flying Bayside scoreless.

“We came out slow and the heavy rain didn’t help us much in the first two games but in the third against Seattle we really backed ourselves and hit our stride,” Cejvanovic said. “It was great to beat Bayside in the final as we have a strong rivalry against those guys. Hopefully we can keep the momentum going in the series when we host our tournament in a few weeks time.”

The Burnaby Lake Lighthouse Sevens is set for July 7th and Burnaby’s head coach Lesi Korobasaga says his players are more than capable of sweeping the 2012 tournaments.

“We showed in the final against Bayside that we are a very strong team. We saw their games in the pool rounds and came up with a game plan for the final,” Korobasaga commented. “And then we played them hard up front against their big players and tired them out before punching through the gaps.”

Men’s Elite Results

1.50 Old Puget Sound Beach (OPSB) 12 – 14 Meralomas

2.10 Bayside 17 – 0 Abbotsford

3.10 Burnaby 19 – 5 Meralomas

3.30 Youngbucks 17 – 5 Seattle

4.10 OPSB 7 – 17 Bayside

4.30 Burnaby 12 – 5 Youngbucks

4.50 Meralomas 40 – 0 Abbotsford

5.10 Youngbucks 31 – 7 Seattle

5.40 OPSB 50 – 0 Abbotsford

6.00 Meralomas 7 – 12 Bayside

6.20 Burnaby 28 – 5 Seattle

6.40 Men’s Elite Semifinal: Bayside 12 – 0 Youngbucks

7.00 Men’s Elite Semifinal: Burnaby 12 – 5 Meralomas

7.40 Men’s Elite Final: Burnaby 42 – 0 Bayside

Burnaby Lake now top the 2012 BC Sevens Series standings, coming away with 16 points for their cup final victory. Bayside sit in second with 12 points for their runners-up finish and Meralomas are in third with eight points. Note: Only registered club sides in the BC Rugby Union are eligible for series points.

Mudhens blank Abbotsford in women’s final

Seattle-based women’s club Mudhens went 2-1 in pool play and then were convincing winners in the cup final with a 22-0 result over Abbotsford RFC. The Mudhens, who were 2011 runner-ups at the Vancouver Sevens, produced a four-try performance to take this year’s title. The Mudhens had two tries from Leah Bueing, a try and conversion from Kammi Lopez and a try from tournament MVP Sarah Falk.

“We won today by playing through the conditions and attacking with speed and using simple passes,” Mudhens coach Phil Killham said after the final.

“This is our fourth year coming up and we enjoy participating in these tournaments because the level of play is higher than anything we have down in the States. We were disappointed not to beat an under-strength Burnaby side who beat us in last year’s final. But we look forward to playing them again in the Burnaby event in July,” Killham added.

Women’s Elite Results:

11.20 Burnaby 0 – 5 vs Abbotsford

11.40 Meralomas 0 – 35 Mudhens

12.50 Meralomas 10 – 25 Abbotsford

1.10 Burnaby 22 – 5 Mudhens

2.30 Meralomas 12 – 7 Burnaby

2.50 Abbotsford 0 – 17 Mudhens

3.50 Women’s Final: Mudhens 22 – 0 Abbotsford

Abbotsford RFC are now the leading team in the BC Sevens Series standings coming away with 10 points this weekend for finishing as runners-up. Burnaby Lake and Meralomas are both level with six points in the standings.

2012 BC Sevens Series

Three tournaments will be endorsed as official stops on the 2012 BC Rugby Sevens Series circuit, and club teams registered within the BC Rugby Union will have the opportunity to accrue points towards a provincial championship. The three stops include the Vancouver Rugby Sevens on June 16; Burnaby Lake Lighthouse Sevens on July 7; and the Abbotsford Rugby Sevens on July 28. Teams eligible for a provincial title will have to attend all three Series events. These three tournaments were endorsed by BC Rugby for committing to field both a men’s and women’s team in all series stops.