Q Mini_Logo_colour_GIF

Victoria, BC (ISN) – The Q’s Victoria Track Series, held meet number four at the University of Victoria’s Centennial Stadium, Saturday, under cloudy skies with light winds.

The University of Victoria Vikes women’s and men’s teams competed in the 800m, 1500m and 3000m distances. There was also a 5000m race. Each distance had competitive and open sections, for all abilities.

At 6:30 PM, the 1500m open-mixed race took off. This race was won by 15-year-old Erica DeShiffart from Nanaimo, in the time of 4:42.6. Following DeShiffart was Darren Skuja who competes in the 50-59 age-group, his time was 4:48.90. Third was Julian Marceau in 4:51.10. Marceau races in the 20-29 age category.

Immediately following the 1500m open was the 1500m men’s elite race featuring Ben Weir of Aspire Running Club, he finished in 4:10.00. Second place went to former UVic Vike and owner of Frontrunners Westshore Nick Walker, who finished in 4:11.40 and third went to 2004 Athens Olympian Roberto Mandje in 4:14.0. Mandje currently lives and trains at altitude in Colorado.

Two 5000m races took place with the first being an open-mixed event for all abilities won by Prairie Inn Harrier Mark Ritchie, in the time of 17:49.10. Women’s winner and second overall went to Claire Morgan, also a Prairie Inn Harrier. Morgan and Ritchie battled for 11.5 laps before Ritchie created a gap with a strong, final 400m. Morgan finished in 17:59.9.

The 5000m elite race featured Dover High 2012 grad Joel DeShiffart, who was recruited to run for Trinity Western University. DeShiffart ran a strong solo effort for several laps and finished his first ever 5000m track race in 15:37.3. Second was Lehm MacGuire in 16.35.7 and third went to Adam Thuss in 16:42.20.

Within the 5000m was a 3000m race. The top three places were swept by the UVic Vikes men’s team. Winning in a time of 8:35.7 was Patrick Psotka, second was Cody Therrien in 8:36.6 and Forrest Simpson in 8:37.5.

The highlight of the night was two 800m events that were populated primarily by UVic Vikes athletes. The women went first with Shauna McInnis narrowly winning in 2:13.00 to Brittany Therrien’s 2:14.00 and third Maureen McCulligh 2:16.00.

To cap-off the night the Vikes men raced the second 800m with John Pratt winning in 15:51.3 a furious kick over Kyle Irvine in 1:53.4 and Thomas Getty in 1:54.8.

The Q’s Victoria Track Series is an inclusive series of track meets that provides runners of all abilities the opportunity to compete on the track. The Series donates proceeds to the Mustard Seed Food Bank. Next meet happens June 30th at the University of Victoria’s Centennial Stadium.