Rowing Canada Announces Nominees to 2012 Olympic Team

rowing canada

Victoria, BC (ISN) – In joint press conferences held today in Victoria, BC and London, ON, Rowing Canada Aviron and the Canadian Olympic Committee today revealed the athletes that will make up its seven-crew Olympic team at next month’s Olympic Games in England.

“We are so proud of this terrific group of athletes and coaches, who train in London and Victoria,” said Dr. Michael Murphy, President of Rowing Canada Aviron. “Exactly one month from today, on July 28, the Olympic regatta begins and I believe our rowers are poised for greatness!”

“We’ve got a great mixture of experience and new energy in our rowers nominated to the Canadian Olympic Team roster,” said Mark Tewksbury, Canadian Olympic Team Chef de Mission for London 2012. “It’s great to see Canada’s legacy of excellence in Olympic Rowing is in safe hands.”

“It is through determination and excellence that today’s nominees to the Canadian Olympic Team have reached the pinnacle of sport competition,” said Marcel Aubut, President of the Canadian Olympic Committee. “I look forward to seeing them continue to give their everything on behalf of their country in London this summer.”

The team has a mix of Olympic veterans, including legendary coxswain Lesley Thompson-Willie who was today named to her eighth Olympic team, and several first-time Olympians. In 2008 at the Games in Beijing, Canada brought home four medals (gold, silver and two bronze).

The 2012 Olympic regatta will be held at Dorney Lake, the world-class rowing and flat-water canoeing centre set in spectacular 450-acres of parkland near Windsor.

Nominated athletes, in no particular order:

Women’s 8+:
(10 women announced to Olympic women’s eight, which includes the alternate yet to be named)

Ashley Brzozowicz (London, ON)
Janine Hanson (Winnipeg, MB)
Krista Guloien (Port Moody, BC)
Darcy Marquardt (Richmond, BC)
Natalie Mastracci (Thorold, ON)
Andreanne Morin (Montreal, QC)
Cristy Nurse (Georgetown, ON)
Lesley Thompson-Willie (London, ON)
Rachelle Viinberg (Regina, SK)
Lauren Wilkinson (North Vancouver, BC)

Men’s 2-:
David Calder (Victoria, BC)
Scott Frandsen (Kelowna, BC)

Men’s 2x:
Michael Braithwaite (Duncan, BC)
Kevin Kowalyk (Winnipeg, MB)

Men’s 4-:
William Dean (Kelowna, BC)
Anthony Jacob (Vancouver, BC)
Derek O’Farrell (Montreal, QC)
Michael Wilkinson (North Vancouver, BC)

Men’s 8+:
Gabe Bergen (100 Mile House, BC)
Jeremiah Brown (Cobourg, ON)
Andrew Byrnes (Toronto, ON)
Will Crothers (Kingston, ON)
Douglas Csima (Oakville, ON)
Robert Gibson (Kingston, ON)
Malcolm Howard (Victoria, BC)
Conlin McCabe (Brockville, ON)
Brian Price (Belleville, ON)

Lightweight Women’s 2x:
Lindsay Jennerich (Victoria, BC)
Patricia Obee (Victoria, BC)

Lightweight Men’s 2x:
Morgan Jarvis (Winnipeg, MB)
Douglas Vandor (Dewittville, QC)

Allison Dobb
John Keogh
Alan Morrow
Terry Paul
Michael Spracklen
Kenny Wu

Christian J. Stewart
Christian is a professional photographer and media professional based in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Currently working as the Assistant General Manager for Victoria HarbourCats Baseball Club, a Senior Contributing Editor and photographer at Independent Sports News (ISN) and operating his own freelance photography and media/pr company.