EDMONTON – British Columbia’s Under-19 men’s provincial team are national champions after going undefeated at the U19 Canadian Rugby Championship in Edmonton. The squad wrapped up a four game sweep on Sunday afternoon defeating the Prairie Wolfpack by a convincing 30-0 score line.

BC conceded just 41 points during the exhausting week which featured four matches in four days at the Nor’Westers Athletic Association fields in Edmonton.

BC opened their campaign with a 41-17 win over the Eastern Ontario and Quebec Voyageurs and narrowly defeated tournament heavyweights Ontario 31-24 in a thriller on Saturday afternoon. BC shut out the Atlantic in a 55-0 victory and held the Prairie Wolfpack scoreless on the tournament’s final day.

“The Wolfpack had some big players and they put us under pressure but our defence was absolutely solid, just as it has been all tournament,” said BC head coach Kris de Scossa. “That’s the second time we shut out our opposition and it just goes to show that defence wins championships.”

BC survived a scare on day three against tournament favourites Ontario, eventually clawing their way back from 24-12 down with three late tries to secure the win.

“Considering that all the other teams in this tournament are currently in season, it’s very impressive that our lads were able to come here after our training sessions and perform the way we did,” de Scossa added. “[Assistant coach] Dave Murphy and I had a system and the players went out there and made it work. You could see the elation on their faces as they capitalized on the mismatches and put on such a clinical and professional display.”

U19 Men’s Canadian Rugby Championship – July 11-15:

July 12 – 1:30pm: British Columbia 41-17 Voyageurs (Eastern Ontario & Quebec)

July 13 – 3:00pm: British Columbia 55-0 Atlantic

July 14 – 3:00pm: British Columbia 31-24 Ontario

July 15 – 3:00pm: British Columbia 30-0 Prairie Wolf Pack

BC U19 Roster

Paul Ahn (UBC Thunderbirds)

Callum Busfield (UVic Vikes)

Peter Chauvel (Vancouver Rowing Club)

Jared Curry (Kelowna Crows RFC)

Mike Dalsin (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

Kylan Gibbs (Kelowna Crows)

Stephen Grdic (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

Connor Hunter (Abbotsford RFC)

Patrick Kay (UVic Vikes)

Jean Koorsten (United Rugby Club)

Daniel Lee (Bayside Athletic Association)

Kyle Leeners (UBC Thunderbirds)

Ryan March (Abbotsford RFC)

Lucas Martin (Capilano RFC)

Alex Mascott (UBC Thunderbirds)

Kieran Mcauley (James Bay Athletic Association)

Brian Murphy (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)

Liam Murphy-Burke (UBC Thunderbirds)

Michael O’Toole (UBC Thunderbirds)

Jordan Reid-Harvey (Capilano RFC)

Deon Smit (Abbotsford RFC)

Christian Styles (Abbotsford RFC)

Charlie Thorpe (UBC Thunderbirds)

Tua Va’a (Velox Valhallians RFC)

Trevor de Zeeuw (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)

BC U19 Staff

Head Coach: Kris de Scossa

Assistant Coach: Dave Murphy

Manager: Clive Fairs

Physio: Alvin Tseng