By Hannah Lawrie – ISN

The Armageddon Fighting Championship (AFC) hosts AFC Full Throttle Saturday July 21 2012 at the Comox Valley Sports Centre, with the doors opening at 5:30 pm.

Twelve Mixed Martial Arts fights will take place at the event and with a 1,500 fan capacity, fight promoters Darren Owen and Johnny Mac hope to pack the seats.

The night promises to provide one of the best amateur fight cards that this province has ever seen.  In the main event of the evening, Comox’s own Fraser Jordan (4-0) will face-off against his toughest test to date against Chilliwack’s Wade Apps (4-0) to determine who is the best in BC.

Along with the main event the islands and BC’s best will throw down in the cage including top stand outs Oren Hanscomb (4-2), Chris Anderson (4-1), Dillon Brown (4-1) who are all top ranked fighters from the Island.

Local fighters participating on the card will be Chris Anderson (2-2), Philip Romanov (2-1), Dustin Porter (2-1), Andrew Payne (1-0), Damian McGeary (1-0) and Isak Van Bourgendien (2-2).

Also featured on Saturday, are two athletes under the age of 18 and one kickboxing match between Isak Van Bourgendien and Jamie McKay.

The AFC event took two months of preparation and many volunteers have participated in setting up the arena and making the event safe for athletes and fans of all ages.

As a promoter and organizer of the sport since 2007, Darren Owen creates these events because of his appreciation for the sport. “My main goal is for the fans to have an entertaining night and get their money’s worth” said Ownen.

Armageddon Fighting Championship is creating a new outlet for sport on Vancouver Island and supporting local athletes who participate in MMA.

More information and a full list of matches can be found at

Tickets for this weekend’s event can be purchased at or via the AFC website at or by calling 250-388-2430. Prices range from $40 General admission up to $100 for VIP Cageside seating. This is an all ages show.



Fraser Jordan 4-0 vs Wade Apps 4-0 185

Oren Hanscomb 4-2 vs Matt Shannon 2-1 145

Chris Anderson 4-1 vs Jared McCann 2-0 170

Dillon Brown 4-1 vs Christian Allaart 3-1 155

Chris Anderson 2-2 vs Bryce Kilpatrick 3-0 170

Andrew Payne 1-0 vs Herbert Moon 2-2 170

Philip Romanov 2-1 vs Gagan Gill 1-0 140

Dustin Porter 2-1 vs Zach Zacharia 2-0 170

Guy Gauthier 1-2 vs David Moon 1-0 155

Colin Butts 1-1 vs Manvir Birk 1-0 145

Damian McGeary 1-0 vs Fraser Doditch 2-0 175

Dave Cunningham 0-0 vs Andy Padda 0-1 155


Isak Van Bourgendien 2-2 vs Jamie McKay 0-0 160