victoriamariners (1)

Story by Christian J. Stewart – ISN)

Surrey, BC (ISN) – The Victoria Mariners and Nanaimo Pirates begin their quest for the BC Junior Premier Baseball League championship Thursday as both teams begin round robin play in the Final 8 Tournament at Whalley Stadium in Surrey.

The Mariners, who finished 4th in the Junior Premier standings, will meet Vancouver Thursday at 4:30 pm to kick things off and then meet Island rival Nanaimo on Friday morning at 11:30 am.  The M’s close out the round robin against the #1 seed Langley at 7:00 pm on Saturday evening.

The Pirates, who are in the same pool as the M’s will play the same teams, but open against the tough Langley squad on Thursday evening.

The cross-over semi-finals will go late Saturday morning (11:30 am and 2:00 pm) with the Championship final scheduled for 4:30 pm Sunday.

The pools and full schedule are presented below:

Pool A (1-8-4-5) Pool B (2-7-3-6)
Seed 1 – Langley Jr Blaze Seed 2 – North Shore Jr Twins
Seed 8 – Nanaimo Jr Pirates Seed 7 – White Rock Tritons
Seed 4 – Victoria Mariners Seed 3 – Abbotsford Jr Cardinals
Seed 5 – Vancouver Cannons Seed 6 – Coquitlam Reds
Thursday August 9th
Game 1 11.30am #2 North Shore #7 White Rock
Game 2 2.00pm #3 Abbotsford #6 Coquitlam
Game 3 4.30pm #4 Victoria #5 Vancouver
Game 4 7.00pm #1 Langley #8 Nanaimo
Friday August 10th
Game 5 11.30am #4 Victoria #8 Nanaimo
Game 6 2.00pm #3 Abbotsford #7 White Rock
Game 7 4.30pm #2 North Shore #6 Coquitlam
Game 8 7.00pm #1 Langley #5 Vancouver
Saturday August 11th
Game 9 11.30am #6 Coquitlam #7 White Rock
Game 10 2.00pm #5 Vancouver #8 Nanaimo
Game 11 4.30pm #2 North Shore #3 Abbotsford
Game 12 7.00pm #1 Langley #4 Victoria
Sunday August 12th
Qualifier 9.00am if necessary
Game 13 11.30am B1 A2
Game 14 2.00pm A1 B2
Game 15 4.30pm W13 W14 Championship Game

All games will be scored live and can be followed on the BCJPBL website