Story and Photos by Ken Keating

Langford BC (ISN) – On Fan Appreciation Night Saturday, Western Speedway hosted the Island Stock Cars, the Island Dwarf Cars, the SDL Bins I.M.S. 4 Mini Stocks, and round three of the Keg Steakhouse & Bar Driver Challenge for the Late Model Series plus a preview of the upcoming Daffodil Cup event schedule for August 17th and 18th.

Guy Barrett, “The Tire Fryer” Scott Aumen, Jeff “The Hurricane” Montgomery, Matt Mansell, and Darren Yates; last season’s WilRoc Sprint Car Champion, were on hand with the winged Sprint Cars and done several laps around the Langford oval as a demonstration of what speeds fans can look forward too seeing with these cars on the track. Scott Aumen won both ends of the demonstration runs piloting a very fast car while Yates was having fun drifting through the turns and lighting them up burning rubber the whole way through.

Trophy Dash wins went to Brian Clutchey in the Stock Car Series, Mike Nyeste in the SDL Bins I.M.S. 4 Mini Stock Series, and James Joachim driving the #44 car in the Dwarf Car Series. Heat race wins were captured by Ike Armitage with the Dwarf Cars, Calab Van Bree in the Mini Stocks, Kevin Knight and Brian Clutchey in the Stock Car Series, and Wade Bland and Aaron Wilkie in the Late Model Series. Wade Bland narrowly missed disaster as Tyler Clough spun, with a little help, and coasted up the track in front of Bland who went between the spinning car and the wall in Late Model Heat race action. Sean Constantine was not so lucky. In his Mini Stock Heat race, a couple drivers got together a bit in turn four and Sean had nowhere to go except into the front stretch wall coming out of turn four. He was unhurt but the car suffered extensive damage and put him out for the night. Sean had a beautiful car and just built it over the winter to compete this season and it was competitive most nights.

Joey Delorme and Tovay Helgesen shared the front row for the Island Dwarf Cars Feature event in a bid to capture the Jim Pridge Memorial Trophy. On lap two, Dave Emmerson moved into the lead but was short lived as Ike Armitage came from his eighth starting position and gained the lead. On lap twelve the yellow came out as Helgesen spun around coming out of turn four. On the restart, Armitage jumped back into the lead and cruised to the victory followed by Emmerson, Bob Pridge, James Joachim, and John McNabb rounding out the top five positions.

Matt Szauer led seven cars to the green flag for the start of twenty-five laps of racing in the SDL Bins I.M.S. 4 Mini Stock Feature event. He led the first lap but as the field entered turn one, he, Jeremy Waksell, and Billy Stidston tried going through three wide with Szauer getting the worst of it and both drivers sent to the back of the pack. On the restart, Waksell jumped into the lead followed by Caleb Van Bree and Justin Woodske and built a substantial lead until the yellow came out again as Szauer came to a stop in turn one. On the double file restart, Waksell and Woodske ran side by side for a couple of laps until Woodske got clear on lap ten. Behind him there was some great racing with Van Bree, Waksell, and Mike Nyeste for the next positions. On lap twenty Van Bree spun out but recovered to finish third behind Nyeste in second and Woodske who captured the win.

Chris McInerny and Jim Steen shared the front row for thirty-five laps of racing in the Island Stock Car Feature event. McInerny went into the early lead but on lap four Brandon Steen passed him and took the lead while Kevin Knight moved up to run in second two laps later with Kyle Cottam followed him through to run third. Steen began to build a pretty decent lead for several laps while several cars were trying to make their way forward including Cody Aumen and Dave Reside. On lap sixteen, after trading a bit of paint, Cottam moved into the second spot while Aumen chased him through to run in third dropping Knight back to forth. On lap eighteen, Daryl Crocker’s car caught on fire bringing him into the pits and bringing out a red flag just as he was moving forward running in fifth. On the double file restart, Aumen had the outside position with Steen on the front row and he got the best jump getting the lead quickly. Over the next several laps, Steen and Cottam ran side by side and bumper to bumper as behind them Brian Clutchey quietly joined this mix. On lap twenty-nine, Clutchey passed to run third leaving Cottam to battle Dave Reside but Cottam still continued the charge with Clutchey trading the third spot back and forth with each lap. Up front, Aumen was on to the chequered flag followed by Steen, Clutchey won the battle for third taking the spot back on the last lap, followed by Cottam and Reside in another competitive race.

Gary Smith and Brandon Carlson led a field of eleven cars to the green flag for the first of two fifty lap Feature events for the Keg Steakhouse & Bar Driver Challenge Late Model Feature events. Carlson jumped to the early lead followed by Smith and Aaron Wilkie. On lap eight Jason Tarasenko moved up to the third position dropping Wilkie back to fourth followed by Darrell Midgley. On lap thirteen, Tarasenko got by Smith and drove into the second spot leaving Smith to deal with Wilkie and Midgley. On lap twenty, Midgley moved up to run fourth and two laps later also took the third spot passing Smith while Carlson and Tarasenko opened a good lead up front. On lap twenty-nine Tarasenko went to the inside of Carlson looking for the lead but spun out bringing out the yellow flag. On the double file restart, Carlson had Wilkie join him on the front row for the resumption of green flag racing. Carlson jumped to the lead again but on lap thirty-three surrendered the lead to Midgley. Over the next several laps, Midgley extended his lead and went on for the win followed by Carlson, Wilkie, Gary Smith, and Rory Smith rounding out the top five positions.

Jason Tarasenko and Wade Bland shred the front row for the start of the second twin fifties for the Late Model Series Feature event. Tarasenko got the early lead while Bland fell into the second spot followed by Rory Smith and Gary Smith. By lap six the best battle was with Gary Smith, Aaron Wilkie, and Darrell Midgley for positions three through five. Over several laps these three drivers were side by side and bumper to bumper with no one giving up a spot easily. When the chequered flag dropped, Tarasenko cruised to the win followed by Bland, Rory Smith, Gary Smith, and Aaron Wilkie. Western Speedway Trophy Girls Kecia and Chahala presented all trophies to the winners along the front stretch after the last event.

The next event, at Western Speedway, is the Wednesday Night Fever with the Steve Copp Construction sponsored Hornet Series on August 15th and on August 17th and 18th it is the P & R. Daffodil Cup two day event with the only winged Sprint Car show this season. This will mark the first time that the Canadian / American Winged Sprints compete at Western Speedway and will undoubtedly be wing to wing and fast action. Also the Richlock Rentals WilRoc Non Wing Sprint Cars competing for the Kershaw Cup, and the OTRA Series appear for a truly open wheel extravaganza.