Ryan Smith Wins Hornet Championship


Story by Ken Keating

Langford, BC (ISN) – The Steve Copp Construction sponsored Wednesday Night Fever events concluded the regular racing season Wednesday night at Western Speedway for 2012. Forty-four cars qualified to run three Trophy Dashes, eight Heat races and three Main events and determine a Champion.

Trophy Dash wins went to Rocky Sandhu, Laura-Ashley Grant, and Tristan Gait. Heat race victories went to Rose Root, Kevin Dawson, Daryl Cahill, Cam Stanfield, Ian Walker, Laura-Ashley Grant, Derek Street, and Ryan Smith. The “Rookie of the Year Award went to Brad Aumen.

Ryan Smith #33 led fifteen cars to the green flag for fifteen laps of racing in the C-Main. He was followed quickly by Kevin Dawson and Kyle Fournier. On lap eight, Ian Walker moved into the third position dropping Fournier back to fourth. This race was incident free with Smith taking the chequered flag first followed by Dawson, Walker, and Fournier moving up to the B-Main with Chris Santos rounding out the top five positions.

Kyle Lajeunesse and Rocky Sandhu shared the front row for the start of the B-Main with Lajeunesse jumping into the early lead before Sandhu passed him on the second lap. Bruce Duffas took the second position on lap five and Andrew Buchanan took the third position two laps later. On lap nine Laura-Ashley Grant moved up to run fourth dropping Lajeunesse back to fifth and then moved up one more spot on lap eleven. Up front Rocky Sandhu had built a pretty good lead while Grant, Lajeunesse, and Daryn Cahill battled hard behind him. On lap sixteen, Ashley Grant took the second position with Lajeunesse getting the third position back again. Sandhu took the win followed by Ashley Grant, Lajeunesse, and Buchanan moving to the A-Feature event of the night and Cahill rounded out the top five.

Cam Stanfield had his work cut out for him to repeat as Champion down fifty-three points to Ryan Smith as Mike Halls and Blair Davis led twenty cars to the green flag and twenty-five laps of racing in the Feature event of the night. Halls led for the first two laps and Stanfield, jumping from his fifth starting position, went by for the lead on lap three. Karl Parker moved up to run second on lap four and Davin Otke took the third position on lap eight. Up front Stanfield was building a healthy lead on the rest of the field until the yellow came out on lap seventeen as Glenn Rand spun around. On the double file restart, Stanfield had Parker on his outside for the resumption of green flag racing and Stanfield was very quick to get back to the lead. Stanfield took the Feature event of the night followed by Parker, Otke, Halls, and Derek Street rounding out the top five positions. The gains made by Stanfield was not enough as Ryan Smith won the Hornet title by twenty-two points for his first Championship with Stanfield, Graham Schuurman, Brad Aumen, and Mike Halls rounding out the top five in total points. There was an earlier announcement that there will be a winter series for the Hornet cars but the dates have yet to be confirmed and many of these drivers will probably be joining in those events. Darren Yates is the defending winter Enduro Champion. Congratulations must go to all the drivers as they have supported the Steve Copp Construction sponsored Series all season. Congratulations, in particular, to Ryan Smith as he reeled off five consecutive Feature event wins to open the 2012 season.

The next event, at Western Speedway is on Friday the 31st of August followed by Saturday September 1st with the Big Rigs, a Bomber Invitational, Mini Figure 8s, a Truck Obstacle Course, and a Truck Jump with the Crusher Josh Beckel coming back for this event.

Christian J. Stewart
Christian is a professional photographer and media professional based in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Currently working as the Assistant General Manager for Victoria HarbourCats Baseball Club, a Senior Contributing Editor and photographer at Independent Sports News (ISN) and operating his own freelance photography and media/pr company.