Championship Night Saturday at Western Speedway

Western-Speedway logo520x28

September 21, 2012, Victoria, BC (ISN) – This Saturday Night at Western Speedway it will be Championship Night for The Keg Steakhouse & Bar Late Models, Richlock Rentals WILROC Non Wing Sprint Cars, Island Series Stock Cars, SDL Mini Stocks and the OTRA Old Timers. All the action will take place on the fast 4/10ths mile paved oval.

In The Keg Steakhouse & Bar Late Model division, the top five in points are only separated by 41 points. Wade Bland currently sits at the top of the standings with 497 points, 17 more than Gary Smith who has 480 points. Both Bland and Gary Smith are the only drivers in the top five that have not won feature events in 2012. Last year’s Late Model Champion Jason Terasenko from Vancouver has two feature wins and sits in the third position with 471 points, in the fourth position is Rory Smith with 463 points, Smith has one main event win to his credit. Darrell Midgley rounds out the top five with 456 points, and also has one main event win. Twenty one drivers have taken points so far this year in the attempt to revitalize the Late Model program at Western Speedway. Geoff Morris has two wins and is the only other driver to score main events wins this year in the series.

Former WILROC Winged Champion Jeff Bird from Shawnigan Lake leads Richlock Rentals Non Wing Sprint Car point standings with 816 points, 70 more than his closest challenger Sidney’s Chris Root who has 746 points, both drivers have scored to amin event victories so far this year. Mr. Steady Paul Verhagen holds down the third spot, only 26 points behind Root at 720. Verhagen holds 55 point lead over the Racing Fireman Ron French, French has 565 points. Early points leader and the winner of the first two feature in 2012 Mark Stewart from Campbell River holds down the fifth position with 542 points. Twenty Seven different drivers have taken points so far this year in the Non Wing class.

Cody Aumen from Duncan has extended his point lead to 29 points over Kyle Cottam 1061 to 1032, both drivers will be battling hard on Saturday Night as they both are looking for their first championship. Dave Reside is in third position with 982 points, 22 more than top Rookie of the Year contender, third generation driver Brandon Steen who has 960 points. Kevin has moved into the top five for the first time this year and sits with 542 points.

Jeremy Waksel is well on his way to his first championship in the SDL Bins IMS4 mini Stock division, Waksel has a 89 point lead 1362 to 1273 over former Champion Gilles Parenteau with one race to go, and only has to start the feature to wrap up the championship. In the third spot is Caleb Van Bree with 1192 points, closely followed by another former champion Justin Woodske with 1162 points, the team of Glen and Gord Percival round out the top five with 1122 points

The (OTRA) Old Time Racers Association will also be back in action, Tom Cinnamon, George Jenson, James Miller and the Dardengo brothers Jesse and Stephen will all be in action as their 2012 season comes to a end..

The front gates will open at 4:30 pm, qualifying at 5:30 and racing at 6:30 pm.

The next event at Western Speedway will be Saturday September 29 as it will be Championship Night for Demo Cars & Trucks, Bombers, Mini Figure 8’s and Hornets.

For more information regarding Western Speedway please call (250) 474 2151 or visit our new exciting website at 

Christian J. Stewart
Christian is a professional photographer and media professional based in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Currently working as the Assistant General Manager for Victoria HarbourCats Baseball Club, a Senior Contributing Editor and photographer at Independent Sports News (ISN) and operating his own freelance photography and media/pr company.