rowing canada

October 18, 2012, Ottawa, ON – Rowing Canada Aviron congratulates the men’s eight on being named Partners of the Year at the 40th Annual Canadian Sport Awards yesterday.  The men’s eight crew are 2012 Olympic silver medalists after a dramatic final race that saw them edge out Great Britain for silver. Germany won the gold.

“Over the past couple months since returning from the Olympics it has been just amazing to hear so many Canadians tell their stories of how they were cheering their hearts out for us in front of their TVs as we raced to the finish line and into silver medal position,” said men’s eight coxswain, Brian Price. “I think it struck a chord with the nation that we never quit, never gave up and always fought to the finish…. just like any good Canadian kids would do.”

The crew was nominated with the rowing women’s eight (also 2012 Olympic silver medalists) and Canadian ice dancers Scott Moir and Tessa Virtue.

“Just to be nominated for this award along with the women’s eight and the ice dancers Virtue and Moir is an honour,” said Price, also a 2008 Olympic gold medalist. “We know from watching our teammates in the eight over the past couple seasons how consistent and strong they have been. To win this award is both humbling and exciting all at the same time. As a crew, we are pleased to carry on the proud tradition of this award going to the men’s eight.”

Price, as part of different crews, picks up this award for the fourth time now (’03, ’07, ’08, ’12).

This crew is made up of Price (Belleville, ON), Will Crothers (Kingston, ON), Jeremiah Brown (Cobourg, ON), Andrew Byrnes (Toronto, ON), Malcolm Howard (Victoria, BC), Conlin McCabe (Brockville, ON), Rob Gibson (Kingston, ON), Doug Csima (Oakville, ON) and Gabe Bergen (100 Mile House, BC). They were coached by Mike Spracklen.

The awards were handed out last night during a celebration in Calgary.

Also in Calgary, rowing Olympic medalist Derek Porter (gold, 1992, silver, 1996) is being officially inducted into the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame today.

“It is a great honour to be inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame,” said Porter, who competed in the eight in ’92 and the single in ’96 and 2000. “It is special to be recognized 12 years after retiring from international competition, and this accolade comes on the 20-year anniversary of our (men’s eight) win in Barcelona…. I am very much looking forward to celebrating at the new CSHOF today in Calgary with friends, family and teammates. It is an amazing facility honouring the great athletes of the past who have had success competing for Canada over many years.” (See for more information)

“Derek’s induction is well-deserved and we congratulate him on the honour,” said Rowing Canada Aviron President, Dr. Michael Murphy.