UVic-Logo web-(1)

By Natalie Wise, Vikes Athletics

October 18, 2012, VICTORIA, B.C. – The University of Victoria Vikes men’s and women’s cross country teams are competing in the Beaver Classic on Oct. 19 at Avery Park in Corvallis, Oregon, going head to head against several NCAA schools in the men’s 8-km event and women’s 6-km event.

The men’s cross country team has had a very successful 2012 so far with two big wins already on their tally sheet. First place team finishes in the St. Martin’s Invitational and the Western Washington University Invite have set them up for another outstanding weekend in Oregon.

Of the Vikes men competing this weekend in the 8-km event is 2011 Canada West Rookie of the Year Ryan Cassidy (Grande-Digue, NB), who raced to a first-place finish in the St. Martin’s Invitational and crossed the line in second place at the Western Washington University Invite. Second-year Forrest Simpson (Nanaimo, BC), also racing this weekend, has been a standout for the Vikes this season with a second-place finish at the St. Martin’s Invitational and well-ran sixth-place finish at the Western Washington Classic. 2011 Canada West All-Stars Dylan Haight (Victoria, BC) and Josh Clouthier (Nanaimo, BC) will also be racing the 10-km alongside fourth-year Doug Oxland(Nanaimo, BC) and sophomore Patrick Psotka (Victoria, BC).

Among the women competing in the 6-km event is Vike Madeline MacDonald (Calgary, AB), the University of Calgary transfer raced to a second-place finish in the St. Martin’s Invitational and led the UVic women in the Western Washington University Invite with a sixth-place finish. Several other key runners competing for the Vikes women are fifth years Riley McQueen (Calgary, Alta.) and Brittany Therrien (Victoria, BC), and rookie Emma Bibault (High River, AB).

The women’s 6-km event begins at 4:00 p.m. while the men’s 8-km begins at 5:00 p.m. on Oct. 19 at Avery Park in Corvallis, Oregon.



  • Jackson Bocksnick
  • Ryan Cassidy
  • Joshua Clouthier
  • Dylan Haight
  • Kyle Irvine
  • Doug Oxland
  • Cole Peterson
  • Patrick Psotka
  • Thomas Riva
  • Karl Robertson
  • Forrest Simpson
  • Cody Therrien


  • Emma Bibault
  • Halley Cote
  • Rachel Francois
  • Emma Lujan
  • Madeline MacDonald
  • Maureen McCulligh
  • Riley McQueen
  • Jenica Moore
  • Kendra Pomfret
  • Brittany Therrien
  • Jenna Van Vliet