UVic-Logo web-(1)

By Vikes Communications / CIS-SIC

VICTORIA – University of Victoria Vikes women’s field hockey co-captains Kyla Kirby (Victoria, BC) and Carly Krestanovich (Surrey, BC) were honoured tonight, Oct. 31, as CIS All-Canadians at the banquet preceding the 2012 Field Hockey Canada CIS national championship being hosted at the University of Toronto, Nov. 1-4.

Fourth-year midfielder Kirby was given the CIS First Team All-Canadian nod for 2012 after scoring twice throughout the regular season to help the Vikes to second place in the Canada West. This is the first CIS first team All-Canadian award for the Lambrick Park graduate, who was honoured as a CIS second team All-Canadian in 2010.

Kirby, who is also a two-time CIS championship all-star (2009, 2010) has started and played every regular season game and has been pivotal in controlling the Vikes’ back line, while generating several outletting opportunities to spring the offence.

“I’m really pleased for Kirby more because she has come in fit, as a leader and has dedicated herself to making the Vikes better this year,” said Lynne Beecroft, head coach of the Vikes women’s field hockey team. “She wants to perform well and has really done her homework to help lead this team. She truly wants to be here and help make a difference and she has been doing just that.”

Fourth-year co-captain and defender Carly Krestanovich has been a continual leader on and off the field, helping structure the Vikes backfield and providing several big game-changing tackles. Krestanovich will finish her final season with the Vikes earning CIS Second Team All-Canadian status, a title fit for a composed, humble and hard-working leader of a young Vikes squad.

“Carly is playing the way she knows she can and trusts what her own instincts are telling her,” said Beecroft. “Her leadership off the field is tremendous and has been an important part of our team’s success.”

Also honoured at the CIS All-Canadian banquet was Gueph’s Brittany Seidler, named CIS Player of the Year, UBC’s Hannah Haughn, named CIS Rookie of the Year, Calgary’s Carolina Romeo, named the Outstanding Contributor recipient and Western’s Jeff Pacheco, named CIS Coach of the Year.

The Vikes will begin their bid to their 12th CIS national crown on Nov. 1 against Guelph (8:50 am) and UBC (2:50 pm). Game times are in PST and the live webstream will be available at: http://cis-sic.tv


  • Liz Hoffman award (player of the year): Brittany Seidler, Guelph
  • Joyce Slipp award (rookie of the year): Hannah Haughn, UBC
  • Gail Wilson award (outstanding contributor): Carolina Romeo, Calgary
  • Marina van der Merwe award (coach of the year): Jeff Pacheco, Western
  • Umpire of the year: Denise Pelletier, OUA

First Team All-Canadians

  • Mandy Avery, Saint Mary’s
  • Keara Chicquen, Calgary
  • Adriana Fernandes, York
  • Kate Gillis, UBC
  • Paie Johnson, Saint Mary’s
  • Kyla Kirby, Victoria
  • Carolina Romeo, Calgary
  • Brittany Seidler, Guelph
  • Nat Sourisseau, UBC
  • Kaelan Watson, Toronto
  • Amanda Woodcroft, Toronto

Second Team All-Canadians

  • Courtney Bisch, Waterloo
  • Ellen Dixon, UPEI
  • Courtney Duggan, Calgary
  • Sydney Hamm, Calgary
  • Hannah Haughn, UBC
  • Winnie Huynh, Waterloo
  • Carly Krestanovich, Victoria
  • Marina MacAulay, UPEI
  • Miranda Mann, UBC
  • Katelynn Roganowicz, Western
  • Tegan Stairs, Toronto