Curl BC_Colour_Logo

November 19, 2012, Brantford, ON – Vernon’s Jim Cotter showed he had what it takes to compete at the highest level when his team made it through to the finals of the Rogers Masters Grand Slam of Curling last Sunday.

The BC champion lost his first two games at the event, but went on to win six in a row to grab a place in the finals at the event in Brantford, Ontario.

Alberta’s Kevin Koe, fresh from a win over Olympic gold medalist Kevin Martin, went on to beat Cotter 7-5 in a tightly contested final, which was broadcast on Sportsnet.

Cotter and teammates Jason (Gunner) Gunnlaugson (Vernon), Tyrel Griffith (Kelowna) and Rick Sawatsky (Kelowna), won $9,500 of the $100,000 available to men’s and women’s teams at the Brantford Grand Slam event.

Koe’s team took home $18,000 in prize money.

If Koe goes on to win the next three Grand Slam titles, including the Canadian Open being held in Kelowna’s Prospera Place next month, he could be in line to win a huge bonus, it has been announced.

An announcement made last Wednesday by both Scott Moore, president of broadcasting at Rogers Media, and Keith Pelley, president of Rogers Media, detailed how the stakes for the 2012-13 Grand Slam of Curling just got a lot higher.

Any men’s team to win all four Grand Slam events in the 2012/13 season will receive a $1-million bonus. If no Grand Slam winner is crowned, the top three men’s teams (based on a points system) will split a $100,000 purse with $50,000 going to first place and $30,000 to the runner-up.

“Sportsnet is committed to growing the Grand Slam of Curling like never before, and the addition of the substantial bonus truly delivers on that promise,” Scott Moore said.