November 21, 2012, TORONTO (CIS) – The 2012 CIS football all-stars were announced on Wednesday evening during the AMJ Campbell All-Canadian Banquet at Ontario Place.  As expected, the top-ranked, undefeated and defending national champion McMaster University Marauders dominated the overall tally with nine selections, including six on the first team and three on the second unit.

The Marauders will get a chance to defend their Vanier Cup title on Friday night when they battle the Laval Rouge et Or in a rematch of last year’s CIS final. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m. at Rogers Centre, live on TSN and RDS. Pre-game coverage on TSN starts at 7 p.m.

As a prelude to the big showdown, TSN will also air a documentary on Thursday evening at 7:30, entitled “Best Game… Ever: The 47th Vanier Cup”, which takes a look back at the memorable 2011 CIS final.

The Regina Rams and Acadia Axemen both received six all-Canadian nods, while Laval and the Calgary Dinos rounded out the leading quintet with five apiece.

Representing McMaster on the first squad are quarterback Kyle Quinlan and guard Jason Medeiros on offence, plus rush end Ben D’Aguilar, linebacker Aram Eisho and cornerback Joey Cupido on defence, as well as placekicker Tyler Crapigna on special teams. Teammates Robert Babic (inside receiver), Matt Sewell (offensive tackle) and Michael Daly (free safety) were named to the second squad.

Quinlan and Medeiros are joined on the first team by running backs Garret Sanvido of Western and Steven Lumbala of Calgary, wide receivers Kit Hillis of Saskatchewan and Nick Anapolsky of Waterloo, inside receivers Jordan Brescacin of Windsor and Michael Squires of Acadia, centre Pierre Lavertu of Laval, tackles Kirby Fabien of Calgary and Laurent Duvernay-Tardif of McGill, as well as Regina guard Brett Jones.

Quinlan, the OUA nominee for the Hec Crighton Trophy, led the country with 19 touchdown passes in eight league games and set a single-season Ontario conference record with a 68.9 completion percentage, good for second in the nation.

Despite missing one regular season contest, Sanvido was the lone CIS back to reach the 1,000-yard plateau this fall (1,001) and also finished first in the country with 13 rushing majors.

Brescacin led all CIS receivers in catches (68) and yards (979) and tied Hillis for first place with eight TD receptions. Hillis, who missed two league games, finished first with 132.8 receiving yards per contest.

Jones is the Canada West finalist for both the J.P. Metras Trophy (most outstanding down lineman) and the Russ Jackson Award (football, academics & citizenship).

On the defensive side of the ball, D’Aguilar, Eisho and Cupido are joined on the first unit by tackles David Rybinski of Saskatchewan and Daryl Waud of Western, end Jean-Samuel Blanc of Montreal, linebackers Frédéric Plesius and Mathieu Masseau, both of Laval, free safety Teague Sherman of Manitoba, halfbacks Tijani Chase-Dunawa of Queen’s and Kirby Kezama of Regina, and cornerback Jamir Walker of Regina.

D’Aguilar and Blanc tied for the CIS lead with 12.5 sacks, a new single-season national standard, and are both in the running for the Metras Trophy.

Eisho and Plesius are the OUA and RSEQ defensive players of the year, respectively.

On special teams, Crapigna is joined on the first squad by Acadia punter Kyle Graves and Manitoba return specialist Nic Demski.

Crapigna was a perfect 18-for-18 in field goal attempts. Graves led the AUS with an average of 40.3 yards per punt. Demski was tops in Canada West with a punt return average of 12.1 yards and ranked second in kickoff returns (24.2).

Graves, the AUS nominee for the Hec Crighton Trophy, was also voted to the second all-Canadian team at quarterback.

For more information, visit: or