Curl BC_Colour_Logo

December 10, 2012, Coquitlam, BC – The teams who will compete at the 2013 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships in early January 2013 can now be revealed and include a number with Vancouver Island connections.

The final qualification draws took place on Sunday, December 9, and the full team line-ups are now known.

The teams will be competing in the Junior Women’s championship and the Junior Men’s championship, which both run from January 1 to 6, 2013, at the Poirier Sport and Leisure Complex, home of the Coquitlam Curling Association.

Included among the competing teams are two Team Silversides – with siblings Katherine and Duncan skipping.

Eight teams are competing for the Junior Women’s title, including a team made up of some of the members of last year’s winners. Team Van Osch from Nanaimo Curling Centre, is made up of Skip Kalia Van Osch, Third Carley Sandwich, Second Marika Van Osch, Lead Ashley Sanderson, Fifth Brooklyn Leitch and Coaches Jim Newlands/Cindy Van Osch. Kalia was Third and Brooklyn was Lead in last year’s winning Team Van Osch, which was skipped by older sister Kesa.

The other teams to qualify include:

  • Team Jensen from Richmond Curling Club, made up of Skip Shawna Jensen, Third Sarah Daniels, Second Katie Sim, Third Megan Daniels and Coach Ernie Daniels.
  • Team Silversides from Juan de Fuca Curling Club, made up of Skip Katherine Silversides, Third Dallyce Gillespie, Second Brooke Capron, Third Sydney Brilz and coach Katie Witt.
  • Team Prinse from Chilliwack Curling Club, made up of Skip Stephanie Prinse, Third Merit Thorson, Second Casey Freeman, Lead Amanda Tipper, Fifth Nicole Block and Coach Doreen Jones.
  • Team Brown from Kamloops Curling Club, made up of Skip Corryn Brown, Third Erin Pincott, Second Samantha Fisher, Lead Sydney Fraser and Coaches Ken Brown/Brian Fisher.
  • Team Edwards from Vernon Curling Club, made up of Skip Amy Edwards, Third Sydney Hofer, Second Kylie Tokairin, Lead Courtney Woo and Coach Dale Hofer.
  • Team Tinkler from Kamloops Curling Club, made up of Skip Brandi Tinkler, Third Ashley Nordin, Second Aliy Nash McLeod, Lead Laryssa Legan, Fifth Lauren Legan and Coach Heather Beatty.
  • Team Fisher from Kamloops Curling Club, made up of Skip Cierra Fisher, Third Samantha Reimer, Second Emily Wood, Lead Mackenzie Anderson, Fifth Megan Wood and Coach Brian Fisher.

On the boys’ side, there are also eight teams who have qualified. One of last year’s champions, Corey Chester (Third for Team Hozack), joins Team Klymchuk to battle for the title.

The teams are:

  • Team de Jong from Victoria Curling Centre, made up of Skip Cameron de Jong, Third Brook Calibaba, Second Connar Croteau, Lead Thomas Thierbach, Fifth Ryan Cassidy and Coaches Donald McMullen/Rich Thierbach.
  • Team Klymchuk, from Langley and Victoria curling centres, made up of Skip Tyler Klymchuk, Third Corey Chester, Second Sanjay Bowry, Lead Rhys Gamache and Coach Todd Troyer.
  • Team Henderson, from Victoria and Esquimalt curling centres, made up of Skip Paul Henderson, Third Calvin Heels, Second Erik Leisinger, Lead Byron Heels and Coach Rachelle Perry.
  • Team Tardi from Langley Curling Club, is made up of Skip Tyler Tardi, Third Jordan Tardi, Second Nicholas Meister and Lead Zachary Umbach, with Coach Paul Tardi.
  • Team Habkirk from Coquitlam Curling Centre, made up of Skip Kyle Habkirk, Third Nicholas Umbach, Second Ryan Harbrink, Lead Kento Sato and Coach Debbie Carroll.
  • Team Silversides from Victoria Curling Centre, made up of Skip Duncan Silversides, Third Benton Boychuk-Chorney, Second Jacob Zorn, Lead Timothy Henderson, Fifth Evan Scott-Moncrieff and coach Len Stewart.
  • Team Cliff from Vernon Curling Club, made up of Skip Brendan Cliff, Third Matthew Schiman, Second Deven Schmidt, Lead Matthew Young, Fifth Tyler Young and Coach Sandra Farynuk.
  • Team Emslie from Kelowna Curling Club, made up of Skip Brandon Emslie, Third Derek Emslie, Second Devon Bourgeois, Lead Jordan Emslie and Coach Dave Fallis.

For more information about the event, visit