Athletics Canada names 2013 NACAC Cross Country team

athletics canada

December 17, 2012, OTTAWA, ON., (ISN) – Athletics Canada announced today the athletes that will travel to Mandeville, Jamaica for the 2013 North America, Central America and Caribbean (NACAC) Cross Country Championships to be held January 26th.

Headlining Canada’s entry at the Cross Country Championships is Black Creek, B.C.’s Cameron Levins. The 2012 Olympian and defending champion is looking to lead the senior men to the ultimate team title.   

Toronto, Ont.’s Kate Harrison is aiming for her first senior women’s victory. In 2011 she captured the junior women’s NACAC title and is coming off of a silver medal performance from the 2012 Canadian Cross Country Championships.

In the junior race, Ben Flanagan of Kitchener, Ont., is returning to the international stage to improve on his 2012 bronze medal performance. Jillian Forsey of Kippens, Nfld., will lead the junior women’s team after securing the Canadian title in the junior cross country race.
David Christiani, Head Coach of the NACAC team; “The goal is to win the team competitions and they are definitely attainable. 2012 Olympian and national champion Cam Levins will lead the team both through performance and experience. We expect this will further motivate the exceptional junior teams we have assembled and they benefit greatly from this developmental opportunity.”   




Senior Men (8km)

Simon Bairu

Regina, SK

Jerry Schumacher

Lucas Bruchet

White Rock, BC

Marek Jedrzejek/Richard Lee

Cameron Levins

Black Creek, BC

Eric Houle

Mathew Walters

North Bay, ON

Gary Malloy/Jon Pratt

Kelly Wiebe

Regina, SK

Graeme McMaster

Chris Winter

Vancouver, BC

Dave Scott-Thomas

Junior Men (6km)

Brandon Allen

Amherstburg, ON

Dave Scarrow

Ben Flanagan

Kitchener, ON

Peter Grinbergs

Christian Gravel

Vancouver, BC

Dave Scott-Thomas

Ryan Sleiman

Kingsville, ON

Chris/Dave Scarrow

Troy Smith

Grimsby, ON

Sharon Stewart

Mike Tate

Antigonish, NS

Chris MacKinnon

Senior Women (6km)

Maria Bernard

Calgary, AB

Marek Jedrzejek/Terry Crook

Lindsay Carson

Cambridge, ON

Dave Reid

Rachel Cliff

Vancouver, BC

Chris Johnson

Natasha Fraser

Port Moody, BC

Brit Townsend

Rachel Hannah

Barrie, ON

Ross Ristuccia

Kate Harrison

Toronto, ON

Sean Cleary

Junior Women (4km)

Jillian Forsey

Kippens, NL

Ray Will

Natalia Hawthorn

Bracebridge, ON

Hugh Cameron

Madeline McDonald

Toronto, ON

Taras Radchenko/Rory Sneyd/ Paula Schnurr

Gabriela Stafford

Toronto, ON

Terry Radchenko

Sarah Wismer

Guelph, ON

Jeff Haller

Madeline Yungblut

Wroxeter, ON

Dave Scott-Thomas/Steve Weiler

Integrated Support Team

Paula Burchat

Massage Therapist

Ottawa, ON

David Christiani

Head Coach

Toronto, ON

Kristine Deacon

Team Manager

Cambridge, ON

Andy Hahn

Team Coach

Windsor, ON

For more information visit: Follow all the action on Twitter (@athleticscanada) and Facebook (CanadaTrackandField).