Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships Underway

curling bc

January 5, 2013, (ISN) – The youngest stars of the Roaring Game were on the ice at the Coquitlam Curling Centre for the 2013 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships.

It is an exciting year for junior curling in BC because the finals will be televised for the first time. Curling fans can tune into Shaw TV on Sunday, January 6, to watch the Junior Women’s final at 3 p.m. and the Junior Men’s final at 7 p.m.

The championships got underway on Wednesday, January 2, and there are already strong contenders for the titles. As of noon on Friday, four teams were unbeaten — Team Van Osch (Nanaimo) and Team Jensen (Richmond) from the Women’s championship and Team Klymchuk (Victoria/Langley) and Team Habkirk (Coquitlam) from the Men’s championship.

Barry Ayers, co-chair of the event, said the competition had been a great success so far.

He said it stemmed from the positive energy that the young teams provided. “The teams are so positive. You can feel it in the air when they’re about to go on the ice. It’s electric.”

Ayers said he was also proud of how happy everybody was with the centre’s ice and facilities. “We are blown away by the response that we have been getting from the teams that have never been to Coquitlam,” he said, adding that Coquitlam hoped to host more events like this in the future.

Eight teams are competing for the Junior Women’s title, including a team made up of some of the members of last year’s winners.

Team Van Osch from Nanaimo Curling Centre, is made up of Skip Kalia Van Osch, Third Carley Sandwith, Second Marika Van Osch, Lead Ashley Sanderson, Fifth Brooklyn Leitch and Coaches Jim Newlands/Cindy Van Osch. Kalia was Third and Brooklyn was Lead in last year’s winning Team Van Osch, which was skipped by Kalia’s older sister Kesa.

After the Thursday morning games, Team Van Osch was unbeaten, with a 5-0 record.

Team Jensen were also unbeaten, with the same 5-0 record. Team Jensen is made up of Skip Shawna Jensen, Third Sarah Daniels, Second Katie Sim, Third Megan Daniels and Coach Ernie Daniels.

There are six other women’s teams in the competition:

Team Silversides from Juan de Fuca Curling Centre, made up of Skip Katherine Silversides, Third Dallyce Gillespie, Second Brooke Capron, Third Sydney Brilz and coach Katie Witt.

Team Prinse from Chilliwack Curling Club, made up of Skip Stephanie Prinse, Third Merit Thorson, Second Casey Freeman, Lead Amanda Tipper, Fifth Nicole Block and Coach Doreen Jones.

Team Brown from Kamloops Curling Club, made up of Skip Corryn Brown, Third Erin Pincott, Second Samantha Fisher, Lead Sydney Fraser and Coaches Ken Brown/Brian Fisher.

Team Edwards from Vernon Curling Club, made up of Skip Amy Edwards, Third Sydney Hofer, Second Kylie Tokairin, Lead Courtney Woo and Coach Dale Hofer.

Team Tinkler from Kamloops Curling Club, made up of Skip Brandi Tinkler, Third Ashley Nordin, Second Aliy Nash McLeod, Lead Laryssa Legan, Fifth Lauren Legan and Coach Heather Beatty.

Team Fisher from Kamloops Curling Club, made up of Skip Cierra Fisher, Third Samantha Reimer, Second Emily Wood, Lead Mackenzie Anderson, Fifth Megan Wood and Coach Brian Fisher.

Two of the Junior Men’s teams are currently leading the pack with four wins each, Team Kymchuk and Team Habkirk. Their fifth games are currently underway (2:30pm start on Friday, January 4).

The Junior Men’s teams are:

Team de Jong from Victoria Curling Centre, made up of Skip Cameron de Jong, Third Brook Calibaba, Second Connar Croteau, Lead Thomas Thierbach, Fifth Ryan Cassidy and Coaches Donald McMullen/Rich Thierbach.

Team Klymchuk, from Langley and Victoria curling centres, made up of Skip Tyler Klymchuk, Third Corey Chester, Second Sanjay Bowry, Lead Rhys Gamache and Coach Todd Troyer.

Team Henderson, from Victoria and Esquimalt curling centres, made up of Skip Paul Henderson, Third Calvin Heels, Second Erik Leisinger, Lead Byron Heels and Coach Rachelle Perry.

Team Tardi from Langley Curling Club, is made up of Skip Tyler Tardi, Third Jordan Tardi, Second Nicholas Meister and Lead Zachary Umbach, with Coach Paul Tardi.

Team Habkirk from Coquitlam Curling Centre, made up of Skip Kyle Habkirk, Third Nicholas Umbach, Second Ryan Harbrink, Lead Kento Sato and Coach Debbie Carroll.

Team Silversides from Victoria Curling Centre, made up of Skip Duncan Silversides, Third Benton Boychuk-Chorney, Second Jacob Zorn, Lead Timothy Henderson, Fifth Evan Scott-Moncrieff and coach Len Stewart.

Team Cliff from Vernon Curling Club, made up of Skip Brendan Cliff, Third Matthew Schiman, Second Deven Schmidt, Lead Matthew Young, Fifth Tyler Young and Coach Sandra Farynuk.

Team Emslie from Kelowna Curling Club, made up of Skip Brandon Emslie, Third Derek Emslie, Second Devon Bourgeois, Lead Jordan Emslie and Coach Dave Fallis.

The winners of this event will go on to represent BC at the 2013 M&M Meat Shops National Junior Curling Championships in Fort McMurray, Alberta, from February 2-10.

Visit www.playdowns.com for up-to-date results.

For more information about the event, contact Rebecca Connop Price, Communications and Marketing Manager for Curl BC, at ac.cblrucnull@ecirpponnocr or 604-333-3617 (work).