Rosters announced for BC Rugby Cups Competitions round one

BC Rugby_Logo_small

January 25, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The Vancouver and Vancouver Island Rugby Unions have announced their rosters for round one of the 2013 BC Rugby Cups Competitions to take place at Westhills Stadium in Langford on Saturday, January 26th.

The triple header gets underway at 11:30am with the senior women’s teams competing in the first leg of the Ruth Hellerud-Brown Cup. The Dunbar Keg Competition will feature U20 men’s players who are eligible for the upcoming 2013 Junior World Rugby Trophy national team roster heading to Chile in June. The Island U20s roster announced for Saturday features 11 players who attended last week’s Rugby Canada U20 trial camp in Victoria. Wrapping up Saturday’s schedule will be the revival of the coveted McKechnie Cup, a trophy first contested for back in 1896.

Round two of the Cups Competitions will feature Vancouver Island away to Fraser Valley with all three matches to be played at Abbotford’s CFV Exhibition Park on February 2nd. The third and final round of the series will be at Stanley Park’s Brockton Oval on February 16th with the Vancouver Rugby Union set to host Fraser Valley.

BC Rugby Cups Competitions – Sat. January 26th:

11:30am: Ruth Hellerud-Brown Cup (Sr Women) – Vancouver at Vancouver Island

1:15pm: Dunbar Keg (U20 Men) – Vancouver at Vancouver Island

3:00pm: McKechnie Cup (Sr Men) – Vancouver at Vancouver Island

Admission Fee: $10.00 for all three games

Location: Westhills Stadium, 1089 Langford Parkway, Victoria, BC

Vancouver Senior Women

1 Carolyn McEwen (UBC); 2 Kim Donaldson (Burnaby Lake); 3 Demi Stamatakis (SFU); 4 Abby Goodwin (Burnaby Lake); 5 December Turcato (SFU); 6 Natasha LaLonde (SFU); 7 Lauren Tagg (Burnaby Lake); 8 Katie Grudzinski (Burnaby Lake); 9 Devon Luca (Burnaby Lake); 10 Julia Sugawara (Burnaby Lake); 11 Bri MacIntosh (Capilano RFC); 12 Kasia Laczny (SFU); 13 Francesca Whiffin (Capilano RFC); 14 Megan Banford (SFU); 15 Genevieve Gratton (Burnaby Lake)

Reserves TBC


Head Coach Walt Brandl; Assistant Coach Marlene Donaldson; Assistant Coach Maria Gallo; Assistant Coach Corinne Jacobsen; Manager Erin Agostini

Vancouver Island Senior Women

1 Desseray McClary (Nanaimo RFC); 2 Melissa Robinson (UVic Vikes); 3 Caitlyn Harvey (UVic Vikes); 4 Carmen Sund (Velox Valkyries); 5 Britta Peterson (Nanaimo RFC); 6 Kelsey Oetting (Velox RFC); 7 Laura Crowe-Hutchon; 8 Audrey Park (Cowichan Rugby Club); 9 Lynzi Anderson; 10 Sam Kreeger-Atwell (Comox Kickers); 11 Kara Galbrath (UVic Vikes); 12 Sam Robb (Velox Valkyries); 13 Brenna Collicutt (Nanaimo RFC); 14 Taylor Reidlinger (UVic Vikes); 15 Selina McGinis (Velox Valkyries)


16 Brittany Sims (Velox Valkyries); 17 Karis Gingertsy (Nanaimo RFC); 18 Jenna Roy (Nanaimo RFC); 19 Sherry Spence (Cowichan Rugby Club); 20 Kehla Guimond (UVic Vikes); 21 Arlene McGuff (Nanaimo RFC); 22 Stacey Collison (Cowichan Rugby Club)


Head Coach Brad Skene; Assistant Coach Anna Schnell; Trainer Trisha Rennie; Manager Aimee Burley

Match Officials

John Buxcey, Kevin Smith, Pierre Lachetti

Vancouver U20 Men

1 Ryan Chapman (Vancouver Rowing Club); 2 Alex Mascott (UBC); 3 Neil Courtney (UBC); 4 Michael O’Toole (UBC); 5 Kirk Bonnis (UBC); 6 Connor Hamilton CAPTAIN (UBC); 7 Charles Thorpe (UBC); 8 Jordan Reid-Harvey (Capilano RFC); 9 Jordan Sandover-Best (UBC); 10 Liam Murphy-Burke (UBC); 11 Lucas Martin (Capilano RFC); 12 Sean Hickson (Vancouver Rowing Club); 13 Scyler Dumas (Vancouver Rowing Club); 14 Santiago Luna (Capilano RFC); 15 Brian Murphy (Burnaby Lake)


16 Miroslav Adamovic (Capilano); 17 Connor Weyell (UBC); 18 Nicolas Huen (Capilano RFC); 19 Ben Keith (Vancouver Rowing Club); 20 Doug Del Monico (UBCOB Ravens); 21 Jon Courville (UBC); 22 Coltan Webster (Capilano RFC)


Head Coach Curry Hitchborn; Assistant Coach Rameses Langston; Assistant Coach Chris Robinson; Manager Connie McGinley

Vancouver Island U20 Men

1 MacBryan Bos (UVic Vikes); 2 Jeff Nishima-Miller (UVic Vikes); 3 Rick Bown (Velox RFC); 4 Jason Gagnier (Velox RFC); 5 Charles Kijek (Velox RFC); 6 Isaac Kaay (UVic Vikes); 7 Mike Harvey (UVic Vikes); 8 Haydn Evans (UVic Vikes); 9 James Pitblado (UVic Vikes); 10 Fergus Hall (UVic Vikes); 11 Crosby Stewart (James Bay AA); 12 Joe Erlic (UVic Vikes); 13 Nathan Yanagiya (UVic Vikes); 14 Brandon Harrison (James Bay AA); 15 Zach Sourisseau (UVic Vikes)


16 Matt Sutherland (UVic Vikes); 17 Zilkey Ryker (UVic Vikes); 18 Reid Tucker (UVic Vikes); 19 Tua Va’a (Velox RFC); 20 Takeshi Barnes (James Bay AA); 21 Hunter Lloyd (UVic Vikes); 22 Monty Tichkowsky (James Bay AA)


Head Coach Winston Stanely; Assistant Coach Nykita Witkowski; Manager John Lyall

Match Officials

Dan Beattie, John Buxcey, Pierre Lachetti

Vancouver Senior Men

1 Garrett Garbe (UBCOB Ravens); 2 Karl Renner (Capilano RFC); 3 Eric Harland (Meraloma); 4 Will Campbell (Meraloma); 5 Malcolm Brodie (Capilano RFC); 6 Alex Boyd (Meraloma); 7 Jonathan Hill (UBCOB Ravens); 8 Callum Morrison CAPTAIN (Meraloma); 9 Chris Robinson (Capilano RFC); 10 Bryan Tyrer (UBC); 11 Kol Henrikson (UBCOB Ravens); 12 Benz Henrikson (UBCOB Ravens); 13 Brock Staller (UBC); 14 Matthew Cheong (UBC); 15 Justin Law (UBCOB Ravens)


16 Dimitri Gotsopoulos (UBCOB Ravens); 17 Adam Gosselin (UBC); 18 Nick Waggott (UBCOB Ravens); 19 Anton Kryachok (Meraloma); 20 Ty Jolly (Meraloma); 21 Henry Recinos (Vancouver Rowing Club)


Head Coach – Mario Domingues; Manager – Connie McGinley

Vancouver Island Senior Men

1 Jake Ilnicki (UVic Vikes); 2 Casey Reed (UVic Vikes); 3 Cody McClary (Port Alberni); 4 Shea Wakefield (Castaway Wanderers RFC); 5 Jim de Goede (James Bay AA); 6 Gord Kehoe (Castaway Wanderers RFC); 7 Drew Langer (UVic Vikes); 8 Dustin Dobravsky (UVic Vikes); 9 Joe van Heerden (Castaway Wanderers RFC); 10 Konrad Nikkel (Comox Kickers); 11 Matt Kemp (Velox RFC); 12 Doug Fraser CAPTAIN (UVic Vikes); 13 Luke McCloskey (UVic Vikes); 14 Kapi Vataiki (UVic Vikes); 15 Johnny Morris (Castaway Wanderers RFC)


16 Clayton Thornber (Castaway Wanderers RFC); 17 Cole Racine (James Bay AA); 18 Scott Franklin (Castaway Wanderers RFC); 19 Riley Ilnicki (Castaway Wanderers RFC); 20 Todd Daradics (Port Alberni Black Sheep); 21 Mike Dalsin (Castaway Wanderers RFC); 22 Pat Kay (UVic Vikes)


Coach Kenny Gooldand; Coach Roger Robinson; Manager Hans De Goede

Match Officials

Chris Assmus, Dan Beattie, Dave Valentine