VIJHL’s Wild Card Game and Awards Ceremony


February 1, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – This year at the AGM the League voted to have a one game show down where the lowest seed from each Division would have an opportunity in a “Wild Card Game” to get into the VIJHL’s Play-offs.


Allowing the top eight teams to compete in the VIJHL Play-offs is a way for our teams coaches to utilize there full roster throughout the season. The pressure on our clubs coaches is less significant in the regular season; therefore they are encouraged to play everyone…. We feel this is good for development!

End Result:

The VIJHL goal and purpose is the development of our players’ coaches and officials. Primarily the bulk of our young men who are fortunate to move up go on to the BCHL, some even end up in the WHL and we are also starting to see players offered scholastic opportunities in the British Columbia Intercollegiate Hockey League.

Sunday February 17th.

Where: Bear Mountain Arena

When: 02/17/13 at 1:30pm is Game Time

Who: Campbell River Storm vs Kerry Park Islanders

Cost: $10 Entry

What’s at Stake: The winner of this game will compete as the fourth seed in the North Division.


Immediately Following the Game is our On Ice Red Carpet Presentation:

VIJHL Awards Ceremony

The annual league awards are to be announced and will be present to this years recipients immediately following the game.

The following list of League Awards will be handed out:

Andy Hebenton Trophy – Regular Season League Champion

Brent Patterson Memorial Trophy – League Playoff Champion

Grant Peart Memorial Trophy – Most Disciplined Team

Eddie ‘The Storm” Kingston Award – Coach Of The Year

Chek 6 – King and Haysom Award – Broadcaster Of The Year

Doug Morton Trophy – League Scoring Leader

Brian Harrison Award – League’s Top Forward

Jack Kingston Memorial Trophy – Top Defenseman

Ray’s Sports Centre Trophy – Top Goaltender

Jamie Robertson Memorial Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player

Walt MacWilliams Memorial Trophy – Unsung Hero

Larry Lamoureaux Trophy – Rookie of the Year

Jamie Benn Trophy – League Most Valuable Player